Sligo and Leevale take top honours at road relays

Sligo AC retained their men’s title while Leevale’s women went on the roll of honour for the first time at the Woodie’s DIY National Road Relay Championships in Raheny, Dublin yesterday.

Sligo and Leevale take top honours at road relays

The men’s 8 mile relay (consisting of 2 mile, 1 mile, 3 mile and 2 mile legs), was all but decided on the crucial three mile leg where Alberto Sanchez of Sligo ran the fastest time of the day in 14:20. This left David Harper to lead them home to glory, running 9:38 for two miles and an overall time of 38:08. Emmett Dunleavy (9:43 for two miles) and Dermot McDermott (4:27 for one mile) were the other team members.

Ennis Track Club were second in 38:36 while Clonliffe Harriers were third in 38:50.

Leevale were welcome winners of the women’s four-mile relay (1 mile, 2 mile, 1 mile) in 21:24. Carol Finn led them on their way with 5:12, handing over to Sinéad O’Connor (11:07) and an excellent last leg by Claire McSweeney in 5:05. Crusaders were 11 seconds adrift on 21:35 with DSD third in 21:39.

The University Track and Field Championships were staged in the RSC stadium, Waterford. Marcus Lawler (IT Carlow) was the standout athlete, winning the 100m (11.21) and 200m (22.00) in headwinds.

Nicola Duncan (Galway City Harriers) moved to 5th on the Irish women’s marathon all-time list with 2:33:28 in London in a race won by Edna Kiplagat in 2:20:21. Wilson Kipsang won the men’s race in a new course record of 2:04:27. Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham) was the best of the Irish in the Rotterdam marathon in 2:17:45.

More in this section

Price info

Subscribe to unlock unlimited digital access.
Cancel anytime.

Terms and conditions apply


Sat, Sept 25

Eire Og

PSFC Round 2


Sun, Sept 26

Clyda Rovers

SAFC Round 2


Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up