Journalism Awards return after 3-year break

After a three-year break, the country’s Journalism Awards will return this November.

Journalism Awards return after 3-year break

The last awards in November 2013, saw reporting of the Savita Halappanavar case commended, as well as coverage of the leaked Anglo tapes.

This year’s awards include new categories and in total there will be 25 categories under which journalists can submit work.

The Journalism Awards are being organised by NewsBrands Ireland and the National Lottery is the main sponsor.

Some of the categories for the awards have been revised such as Features and Columnist of the Year for both broadsheet and popular, Digital Innovation and Story of the Year in politics, business and crime. Work eligible for entry include any articles written from January 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016.

Vincent Crowley of NewsBrands Ireland said that the return of the awards coincides with a refreshed period in Irish journalism.

“We’re really pleased to welcome back an expanded and even more inclusive Journalism Awards for 2016, at a time when the quality of Irish journalism is attracting more people than ever to our newspapers and news media sites,” Mr Crowley said.

He added that newspapers are where original content originates from within the media, therefore it must be honoured as a discipline.

Dermot Griffin, chief executive of Premier Lotteries Ireland said his organisation is proud to be associated with the awards.

“As the National Lottery enters its 30th year, we are delighted to support the 2016 NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards and proud to be associated with this wonderful showcase of original Irish journalism.”

The full list of categories is available on

More in this section