Step back into Cork history – and it won’t cost a cent

CORK people will get the chance to step back in time tomorrow as many landmark and buildings around the city throw open their doors to show off their heritage – and it’s all free.

Venues such as the Everyman Palace, Cork Courthouse in Washington Street, UCC, South Presentation Convent and the North Cathedral are offering guided tours.

A special tour of Cork City Hall will also take place which will include a look at the architecture and history of the building and a visit to the Lord Mayor’s chamber.

People can trace their family history using the 1901 and 1911 Census in the Grand Parade City Library; watch Mitchell and Kenyon footage of Cork in the 20th Century in Civic Trust House and listen to John Collins of Cork Historic Walking Tours as he delivers a talk entitled Is Cork really Irish in Blackrock Castle Observatory.

The Lifetime Lab is running a special Water Open Day, which will include activities such as bubble making, launching water rockets and water investigation, while lovers of literature will enjoy the Munster Literature Centre which is screening short documentaries on Cork writers.

Historical walking tour around the old walls of the city will be conducted by Liam O hUigin, while there will be a walking tour of Cork’s 20th century architecture by Tom Spalding and the unique tour by Ronnie Herlihy of St Joseph’s Cemetery where Fr Mathew is buried.

For those interested in Irish, a special bilingual walking tour of Shandon will be given by Gael-Taca.

Cork Vision Centre will host Echoes of the Past, a series of black and white photographs of Cork over the past 100 years, and the Traveller Visibility Group photographic exhibition will be on display in the Cork City Public Museum.

People will be able to visit the city’s Baptist Church, which dates back to the 17th century; Trinity Presbyterian Church, which contains three distinctive stained glass windows which represent the Holy Trinity; and the Quaker Meeting House and Graveyard, which is a reminder of thecontribution made by the Quakers to the development of Cork city.

Other venues open to the public include the Masonic Hall, which has been the home of Freemasonry in Cork since 1844, St Fin Barre’s Cathedral, the Old Deanery and Gardens, and Princes Street (Unitarian) Church, which is the oldest documented surviving building in Cork. It will host a special Craft Fair to celebrate Cork Heritage Open Day.


More in this section