Ard Scoil in close battle to take quiz title

TCH All-Ireland School’s Quiz number 187 saw a very close win for Ard Scoil Phobal Beanntrai who won with a score of 96.

The team consisted of Aileen Daly, Brian Casey, Brendan McGrath, and Brian O’Mahony. In close second were Colaiste Dhaibheid, Cork with 92.

The second quiz of the night resulted in a win for Colaiste An Spioraid Naomh, Cork who came from behind in the last two rounds to win with 100 marks. The team consisted of Barry Buttimer, David Brazil, Joseph Lynch and Eoghan McSwiney. In close second were Vocational School, Borris, Co Carlow on 88 marks. The quizzes were held at Jury’s Hotel, Cork last night.

Meanwhile, Newbridge College, Co Kildare and Avondale Community College, Rathdrum, Co Wicklow secured their places in the final 16 of the Schools Quiz at the Montrose Hotel, Dublin last evening.

Winners in 2005, Newbridge College were very impressive scoring 116 points in their win over CBC Monkstown, Dublin while Avondale Community College were the surprise winners edging out Belvedere College Dublin by a mere two points on a 94 to 92 scoreline.

Quiz 179: 1. Newbridge College, Kildare, 116 points (Ciaran O’Carroll, Ralph Hurley-Dwyer, Neil Diver, Daniel Diver); 2. CBC Monkstown, 86 points; 3. St. Brendan’s College, Bray, 74 points.

Quiz 180: 1. Avondale Community College, Rathdrum, Co. Wicklow, 94 points (Kevin Sheehan, Conor Byrne, Padraig Sheehan, Sara Byrne); 2. Belvedere College Dublin, 92 points; 3. St. Patrick’s Cathedral Grammar School, Dublin, 76 points.

More in this section