Bishop John Buckley announces diocesan changes

MOST Reverend John Buckley, Bishop of Cork and Ross, has announced a number of changes to appointments of priests in the diocese.

The changes include two retirements, one ordination and one return from study leave.

The appointments are:

Fr. Cornelius White, PP Carraig na bhFear, to retire; Fr Hugh McLoughlin, SMA, CC Goleen, to retire; Fr John Collins, Adm. Cathedral, to be PP Carraig na bhFear; Fr Declan Mansfield, CC Ballineaspaig, to be Adm. Cathedral; Fr Christopher O’Shaughnessy, assistant priest, Turner’s Cross, on sabbatical for further studies; Fr John O’Donovan, CC Ballincollig, to be assistant priest in Goleen and chaplain to Schull Community College; Rev Dr Aidan O’Driscoll, President, St Finbarr’s College, Farranferris, further studies; Fr Michael Kelleher, CC Bantry, to be PP Mahon; Fr Christopher Fitzgerald, CC Douglas, to be Diocesan Coordinator of Liturgy and assistant priest in Ballineaspaig; Fr Sean O’Driscoll, chaplain to Glanmire Community College, to be CC Ballincollig; Fr Alan O’Leary, CC St Joseph’s Mayfield, to be CC Dunmanway; Fr Criostóir McDonald, CC Dunmanway, to be CC Curraheen Road; Fr Patrick O’Leary, PP Mahon, on sabbatical for further studies; Fr Daniel Pyburn, CC South Parish, to be CC Bantry; Rev Dr Tom Deenihan, Diocesan Advisor for Catechetics (Post Primary) to be diocesan secretary; Fr Paul O’Donoghue, chaplain to Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig, on sick leave; Fr Sean O’Sullivan, returns from post-graduate studies to be coordinator of adult religious education and assistant priest in Mahon; Fr Charles Kiely, CC Glounthaune, to be CC Turner’s Cross; Fr Cian O’Sullivan, Chaplain, Nagle Community College, Mahon, to be Chaplain, Glanmire Community College; Fr Anthony O’Mahony, newly ordained, to be Chaplain, Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig; Fr Augustine O’Brien MSC, PP Sacred Heart Parish, Western Road to return to his Order; Fr John Fitzgerald MSC to be PP Sacred Heart Parish, Western Road; Fr Pearse Timoney, CC Curraheen Road, to be assistant priest Ballinhassig; Fr Gregory Howard OSA to be CC Glouthaune; Fr Raymond Riordan, Norbertine Canons (OPraem) to be CC Douglas.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd