Close call as Mount St Michael’s win quiz heat

A TIGHTLY fought quiz up to the very end resulted in a win for Mount St Michael’s School, Rosscarbery, with 106 points in the latest heats of the TCH All Ireland Schools Quiz last night.

Held at Parkway Hotel Dunmanway, the winning team in Quiz No 61 was: Kevin Daly, Padraigh O’Donovan, Eoghan Scally and Barry Murphy.

In second place on 104 points was Clonakilty Community College. Third with 90 points was De La Salle College Macroom.

The second quiz of the night, No 62, was neck and neck to the last hurdle when only four marks separated the three teams at the end of round nine. Beara Community School went on to win with a score of 100. Team: Katie Murphy, Aisling Cronin, Kate Twomey and Paula Lehane. Second with 96 was Schull Community College and third was Colaiste Ghobnatan, Baile Mhic Ire on 90 points.

At the Imperial Hotel Cork, quiz no 58 saw Bandon Grammar School, Co Cork, win with 94pts. The team was Henry Burrows, Tansy Greonlee, Lorna Ferguson and Simon Huleatt. Second was Midleton College with 88pts and third was Bishopstown Community School with 70pts.

In quiz No 59 Colaiste an Phiarsaigh (Glanmire) won with 94pts. The winning team was Cian O’Mathuna, Shane O’Liathain, Aodhnait Ni Meill and Owen Power. Second was St Aloysious College (Carrigtwohill) on 82pts. Third was Mount Mercy College with 70pts.

More in this section

War of Independence Podcast

A special four-part series hosted by Mick Clifford

Available on

Commemorating 100 years since the War of Independence


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.