Scientist Cox the unlikely star of TV award show

Science poster boy Professor Brian Cox was the star himself after becoming a double winner at the Royal Television Society Awards last night.

Science poster boy Professor Brian Cox was the star himself after becoming a double winner at the Royal Television Society Awards last night.

The pop star turned academic was rewarded for turning his shows about the solar system into a mainstream hit at the highbrow awards event.

Another double winner last night was Miranda Hart, who has won huge acclaim for her BBC2 sitcom 'Miranda', which is soon to be moved to BBC1. She collected the prize for best comedy performance and her show landed the award for best scripted comedy.

"I'm really thrilled because I don't really like writing - I find really hard work," she said as she collected her scriptwriting prize.

And she thanked TV presenters Ant and Dec - winners of the best entertainment performance prize - for helping her to enjoy the evening, staged at London's Grosvenor House Hotel.

"Because we're on the BBC table we're not allowed to drink Champagne so I was dared to ask Ant and Dec for theirs and they gave it to me."

Cox was rewarded as best presenter - beating Piers Morgan and Reggie Yates - and his BBC2 series 'Wonders Of The Solar System' took the science and natural history prize.

The astrophysicist - who had a first taste of fame as a member of chart act D:ream - thanked the BBC for allowing an academic to become a presenter.

The BBC took the lion's share of the awards, with ITV taking just two - Ant and Dec's prize, as well as the entertainment title, which went to 'The X Factor'.

Jim Broadbent was named best actor for his role in the Channel 4 drama 'Any Human Heart', while the best actress prize went to Vicky McClure for her performance in the same station's 'This Is England '86'.

Her series, which continued the story of characters first seen in Shane Meadows film 'This Is England', was the winner of the best drama writer prize, shared by Meadows and Jack Thorne.

The best soap prize went to 'EastEnders', beating 'Coronation Street' in its 50th year despite a stunning live episode to mark its milestone.

But the cobbles were not forgotten at the event. A BBC4 film looking at how the soap made it to the screen, 'The Road To Coronation Street', took the prize for best single drama.

Despite huge critical acclaim and audience, ITV1's 'Downton Abbey' was left empty-handed, losing out on the drama series prize to BBC1's contemporary reworking of the Holmes stories in 'Sherlock'.

The man behind 'Sherlock' and the creative force on 'Doctor Who', Steven Moffat, was also given the judges' award for his outstanding contribution to TV.

BBC1's 'Five Daughters', which portrayed the real-life stories of a group of prostitutes murdered in Ipswich in 2006, was named best drama serial.

The comedy writer prize was awarded for BBC series 'Getting On', starring and co-written by Jo Brand, which follows nurses looking after geriatric and terminally ill patients.

Meanwhile, CBBC show 'Horrible Histories' won the children's programme title.

Peter Bennett-Jones, the comedy agent and founder of the Tiger Aspect production company, was given the lifetime achievement award.

Here is the full list of winners from the Royal Television Society awards.

* Entertainment - 'The X Factor' (ITV1)

* Scripted Comedy - 'Miranda' (BBC2)

* Arts - 'Alan Bennett and the Habit of Art' (More4)

* History - 'The Secret Life of the National Grid' (BBC4)

* Science and Natural History - 'Wonders of the Solar System' (BBC2)

* Single Documentary - 'Between Life and Death' (BBC1)

* Documentary Series - 'Welcome to Lagos' (BBC2)

* Features and Lifestyle Series - 'Pineapple Dance Studios' (Sky1HD)

* Nations and Regions Programme - 'Breaking the Silence' (BBC1 Northern Ireland)

* Children's Programme - 'Horrible Histories' (CBBC)

* Children's Drama - 'Sarah Jane Adventures' (CBBC)

* International Award - 'True Stories: The Cove' (More4)

* Daytime and Early-Peak Programme - 'The Indian Doctor' (BBC1)

* Soap and Continuing Drama - 'EastEnders' (BBC1)

* Presenter - Professor Brian Cox - 'Wonders of the Solar System' (BBC2)

* Actor (Male) - Jim Broadbent - 'Any Human Heart' (Channel 4)

* Actor (Female) - Vicky McClure - 'This is England '86' (Channel 4)

* Single Drama - T'he Road to Coronation Street' (BBC4)

* Drama Series - 'Sherlock' (BBC1)

* Drama Serial - 'Five Daughters' (BBC1)

* Writer (Drama) - Jack Thorne and Shane Meadows - 'This is England '86' (Channel 4)

* Writer (Comedy) - Jo Brand, Vicki Pepperdine and Joanna Scanlan - 'Getting On' (BBC4)

* Entertainment Performance - Anthony McPartlin and Declan Donnelly - 'I'm a Celebrity... Get Me Out of Here!/ Britain's Got Talent' (ITV1)

* Comedy Performance - Miranda Hart - 'Miranda' (BBC2)

* Judges' Award - Steven Moffat

* Lifetime Achievement Award - Peter Bennett-Jones

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day.

great irish summer

From walking and hiking, to day trips and camping, your guide to holidays at home in 2021


The best food, health, entertainment and lifestyle content from the Irish Examiner, direct to your inbox.

Sign up