Gallery: Féile hurling glory for impressive Turloughmore

Turloughmore (Galway) 3-6 - 1-1 Na Piarsaigh (Cork)

Turloughmore successfully retained the John West Féile na nGael Division One Hurling title following a comprehensive victory against Na Piarsaigh in the decider.

The men from Galway were a well-drilled outfit and some of their hurling was at times of a very high quality. They got off to a great start and made an early statement of intent.

Turloughmore scores 2-5 without replay during what was a rip-roaring start.

Early points were put on the board from Sean Duggan and Ryan Rabbitte. That was before Éanna Monaghan showed great hurling skills to bury the ball into the back of the net.

Scores by Duggan and Monaghan followed, before Turloughmore got their second goal of the game through a clinical close range finish by Monaghan, after an initial effort had hit the crossbar.

The best images from the John West Féile na nGael which took place this weekend in Cork

Na Piarsaigh got a point back through Ryan Lyons and a goal from Ross O’Sullivan, which was a bullet of a strike from a free.

The second half saw less scores on the board compared to the opening half, as Turloughmore did a very professional job in seeing the game out to a successful conclusion.

Monaghan converted once again to complete his hat trick and put the icing on the cake for a memorable day for the men from Galway.

Scorers for Turloughmore: E Monaghan 3-1, S Duggan 0-4, R Rabbitte 0-1.

Na Piarsaigh: R O’Sullivan 1-0, R Lyons 0-1.

Turloughmore panel: Ciaran Wilde: Jamie Burke, Evan Gill, Tom McNicholas, Evan Forde, Jack Lonergan, Marc Cummins, Owen Morgan, Cillian Trayers, Ryan Rabbitte, Eanna Monaghan, Sean Duggan, Ronan Flaherty, Rory Casserly, Cian O’Callaghan, Oisin Fahy, Shane Commins, Daniel Fitzmaurice, Luke Williams, Matthew Collins, Gary Gill, Cilian Walsh, Aaron Burke, Oisin McGilloway, Aaron Walsh, Ronan Duggan, Owen Long, Harry Kelly, Conor Dooley, Darragh McEntee.

Na Piarsaigh panel: Baruch Dwyer Harrington: Eoin Cronin, Cian Higgins, Jacob Hutchinson, Andrew O’Driscoll, Padraig Hosford, Jack O’Sullivan, Sean Paul Cooke, Peter Lehane, Ryan Lyons, Ross O’Sullivan, Charlie Cronin, Dylan Phillpott, Alex Lynch, Dylan O’Sullivan, Patrick McGrath, Jonathan McSweeney, Kian Galvin, Adam Heffernan, DJ Coffey.

Referee: Ger Scully (Killeagh).

More on this topic

Laois end Kildare reign in U20 Football Championship

John Horan’s two-tier proposals have room to improve

Cluxton’s No.1 contenders for his successor as kickout king

Dublin’s cosiness to HQ gives ammunition to detractors

More in this Section

Chelsea receive permission to talk to Derby boss Frank Lampard

Klitschko reveals escape from boat fire

Waterford FC announce departure of Ismahil Akinade

James McGivern leads the Irish charge for boxing medals in Minsk today


Hozier adds more believers to his church after Cork gig

Simply off the wall: Your go-to guide to shelving

Peter Dowdall shares his top 4 flower picks to add a splash of summer colour to your garden

Ask a counsellor: ‘Why does my husband hate that our daughter’s dating a man going through divorce?’

More From The Irish Examiner