Kanturk dispatch Kilburn Gaels to progress to All-Ireland IHC semis

Kanturk 2-17 Kilburn Gaels 2-8
Kanturk’s 14th consecutive championship win of 2017 has put their hurlers within one hour of an All-Ireland club IHC final appearance at Croke Park.

Ruislip was the destination for this afternoon’s All-Ireland quarter-final against London champions Kilburn Gaels and although Kanturk were somewhat below the level which delivered Cork and Munster titles in recent weeks, they got the job done with a bit to spare.

The crucial moment of proceedings, which were watched by a sizeable portion of Kanturk supporters who flew over this morning, arrived in first-half stoppages when goalkeeper Anthony Nash repelled a Stephen Lambert penalty. With the scoreline reading 0-9 to 0-5 in favour of the visitors, a goal for KIlburn Gaels would have left just the minimum between the sides at the break.

As it was, Kanturk took a four-point lead into the second-half and pulled clear with a burst of 1-3.

Liam O’Keeffe provided the opening goal, a score which he himself set up after a fine run. It was inevitable that O’Keeffe would find the net at some stage having had two goal chances in the opening period kept out.

Jody Troy's 41st-minute goal was Kilburn Gaels’ first score of the second-half. By that juncture, they trailed by 1-12 to 1-5.

Lorcan McLoughlin responded with a second Kanturk goal, his speculative effort from out the field deceiving Jack Barron.

The North Cork champions finished with nine scores, half-back and captain Lorcan O’Neill chipping in with two excellent points.

Kanturk now play Middletown of Armagh in the All-Ireland semi-final early in 2018.


Scorers for Kanturk: L O’Keeffe (1-5, 0-4 frees, 0-1 ‘65); I Walsh (0-4); L McLoughlin (1-0); A Walsh (0-1 sc), L O’Neill (0-2 each); R Walsh, D Kennelly, A O’Keeffe, D O’Donoghue (0-1 each).  

Scorers for Kilburn Gaels: S Lambert (1-6, 1-6 frees); J Troy (1-1); K Kennedy (0-1).

Kanturk: A Nash; P Walsh, J McLoughlin, J Browne; L O’Neill, A Sheehy, D Browne; L McLoughlin, R Walsh; D Kennelly, I Walsh, J Fitzpatrick; L O’Keeffe, A Walsh, A O’Keeffe.

Subs: E O’Connor for A O’Keeffe (49 mins); M O’Riordan for Kennelly (54); D O’Connor Fitzpatrick (54); D O’Donoghue for I Walsh.

Kilburn Gaels: J Barron (Carlow); K Campion (Laois), N Coen (Galway), C Hickey (Waterford); W Campion (Laois), B Regan (Galway), K Kennedy (Tipperary); A O’Leary (Dublin), C McLinden (Armagh); F Collins (Tipperary), M Duggan (Clare), S Conlon (Cork); S Lambert (Galway), J Troy (Tipperary), D Reale (Limerick).

Subs: A Murphy (Kilkenny) for Reale (42 mins); S Carey (Tipperary) for O’Leary (44); J Kelly (Galway) for K Campion (50); M Lambert (Galway) for Hickey (56).

Referee: J O’Brien (Laois).

More in this Section

Michael Ryan: Moving All-Ireland final date from September slot was a mistake

Tipperary secretary's report: Jason Forde was found ‘guilty by association’

Waterford spent €872,000 on inter-county sides

2018 Munster Hurling League confirmed for 2017 start as fixtures are released

Breaking Stories

Ruby Walsh confident of Cheltenham return after leg break

Q&A: The key questions you might be asking after Tyson Fury is cleared for ring return

Boost for Leinster and Munster squads ahead of weekend

Jose Mourinho questions City players' education after derby win celebrations


No wee feat: Daniel back in the charts with new album this Christmas

The League Of Gentlemen sketch troupe back on TV screens after 15 years

Get ready for the Jedi in latest Star Wars instalment

A heavy burden for such young shoulders caring for parents this Christmas

More From The Irish Examiner