Midleton CBS survive Thurles onslaught to reach Harty Cup semi-finals

Midleton CBS 0-15

Thurles CBS 1-11

Midleton CBS survived a late onslaught to progress to the semi-finals of the Harty Cup, writes Eoghan Cormican.

Thurles CBS Conor Bowe under pressure from Middleton CBS ’s Eoghan O Sullivan. Pic: John D Kelly

The Cork college looked good when leading by 0-14 to 1-8 entering the final quarter, but they managed just one point in the closing 17 minutes and found themselves having to repel a number of Thurles attacks at the finish.

Thurles’ Devon Ryan and Darren Flood raised white flags to leave the scoreboard reading 0-14 to 1-10 on 50 minutes, with Midleton subsequently moving back into a two-point advantage thanks to Cathal Hickey.

Michael Nally almost had a goal for the Tipperary outfit but his kicked effort just short of the hour mark was smothered by a swarm of Midleton defenders.

Jack Lanigan again cut the deficit to the minimum in second-half stoppages, Thurles unable to find an equaliser thereafter.

Midleton led 0-10 to 1-6 at the break. Liam Gosnell finished as their top-scorer with 0-8 (0-7 frees).

They will play Our Lady’s Templemore in the semi-final.

Scorers for Midleton CBS: L Gosnell (0-8, 0-7 frees); L O’Shea (0-2); G Millerick, D Moran, J Stack, C Hickey, K Farmer (0-1 each).

Scorers for Thurles CBS: D Ryan (1-4, 0-4 frees); M Hackett (0-2); B O’Mara (0-1 free), K Ryan, C Bowe, D Flood, J Lanigan (0-1 each).

Midleton CBS: A Power (Midleton); E O’Sullivan (St Colman’s), S O’Sullivan (Midleton), D Hogan (KIlleagh); D Moran (Kiltha Óg), A Walsh Barry (Carrigtwohill), J Landers (Killeagh); S O’Leary Hayes (Midleton), G Millerick (Fr O’Neills); L Gosnell (Carrigtwohill), L O’Shea (Lisgoold), C Hickey (Lisgoold); J Stack (Kiltha Óg), A Nganou (Midleton), K Farmer (Midleton).

Subs: O Broderick (Killeagh) for Nganou (48 mins).

Thurles CBS: K Hayde (Golden Kilfeacle); R Darmody (Moycarkey Borris), B McGrath (Thurles Sarsfields), J Ryan (Holycross-Ballycahill); D Quirke (Clonoulty Rossmore), B O’Mara (Holycross-Ballycahill), K Hayes (Moycarkey Borris); A Ryan (Sean Treacys), C Connolly (Loughmore Castleiney); M Nally (Holycross-Ballycahill), D Ryan (Knockavilla kickhams), K Ryan (Upperchurch Drombane); M Hackett (Moycarkey Borris); G Troy (Emeralds), C Bowe (Moyne Templetuohy).

Subs: J Fallon (Moycarkey Borris) for Troy (43 mins); D Flood (Moycarkey Borris) for A Ryan (48); J Lanigan (Thurles Sarsfields) for Hackett (59).

Referee: T Walsh (Waterford).

Related Articles

O’Byrne Cup final and FBD Insurance League action pick of GAA action later today

New Páirc ticket options aimed to ’stimulate market’

LGFA announced new sponsor - Gourmet Food Parlour

Remembering Dr Maurice Hayes: ‘He treated everyone with the respect and dignity that people deserve’

More in this Section

Northern Ireland’s Mark Allen overcomes John Higgins to book final place

O’Byrne Cup final and FBD Insurance League action pick of GAA action later today

Munster and Ulster to decide Champions Cup fate later today

Scarlets topple triple winners Toulon to progress in Champions Cup

Today's Stories

Felix Jones - Freeing and firing the Munster attack

Knocknagree book their place in All Ireland Junior Football final

Carrick lined up to join Jose

‘It’s not up to us to make those moral judgments’


The biggest cancer killer will take your breath away

Hopefully she had an idea...

Power of the press: Meryl Streep and Tom Hanks discuss 'The Post'

More From The Irish Examiner