Veteran Browne back to face Tipp

Evergreen 39-year-old Tony Browne is one of Michael Ryan’s three changes to the Waterford team for Sunday’s Munster final.

The Mount Sion man comes in for Richie Foley, who started against Clare last day out, at right half-back.

However, Browne’s fellow veteran Eoin Kelly has been omitted from the team, with Pauric Mahony coming into the half-forward line in his place.

Injured Aidan Kearney makes ways for fit-again Noel Connors in the full-back line.

In all, Waterford show seven changes to the team that lost to Tipperary by 21 points in last year’s provincial decider, with Clinton Hennessy having retired and Shane O’Sullivan in the US for the summer.

However, the Déise are set to go with the same half-back line that featured in Páirc Uí Chaoimh that day.

Limerick manager John Allen has gone with all but one of the same starting line-up that trounced Antrim for tomorrow’s All-Ireland phase three qualifier against Clare in Thurles.

Paudie O’Brien takes over from Thomas O’Brien alongside James Ryan in midfield.

Defender-cum-forward Brian Geary retains the number 11 jersey while Seamus Hickey, Kevin Downes and Declan Hannon have been included among the subs.

Christopher Joyce is a doubt for Cork’s All-Ireland qualifier against Wexford in Thurles after picking up a thumb injury.

William Egan, who began the game against Offaly last weekend, is likely to take his place in the half-back line should Joyce be unable to start.

Reports emanating from Kildare last night suggest Seánie Johnston will be included on the substitutes’ bench for their qualifier against Cavan on Sunday.

It means the 27-year-old could yet feature against his native county and make his Lilywhites debut despite picking up a shoulder injury in training last week.

Limerick’s footballers have made four personnel switches from the team that lost the Munster semi-final to Clare for tomorrow’s qualifier trip to Longford.

Aside from several positional changes, Andrew Lane, Stephen Lucey, Jim Donovan and Eoghan O’Connor replace Stephen Lavin, Tom Lee, Paul Kinnerk and Ian Corbett.

Wexford go with 13 of the team that lost to Dublin for their visit to Semple Stadium — Rob Tierney taking Aindreas Doyle’s place in defence and Peadar Byrne slots in to the side for Colm Morris.

Alan Mulholland brings in four new faces for the trip to Casement Park with Tomás Fahy, Fionnan Ó Curraoin, Conor Doherty and Michael Meehan the changes from the defeat to Sligo.


Don't miss the Irish Examiner's free glossy Home mag

Rebel insiders share Cork city's hidden treasures

The dos and don’ts of BBQing

Sony Photography Awards: As the winners are announced, here’s 10 top travel shots

More From The Irish Examiner