The hot 100: Premier League players in Russia

There will be 100 Premier League players in action at the World Cup, spread across 25 international teams.

Imagine a front line of Harry Kane and Sergio Aguero, supported on the wings by Mo Salah and Eden Hazard, prompted by Kevin de Bruyne and anchored by N’Golo Kante. That’s a front six to take on any team in the world.

But there are enough English-based stars to choose from to fill a Fantasy League competition, let alone a combined XI. Here’s our pick for a Premier League team to take on the Rest of the World. But there are some pretty big stars left on the bench…

World Cup Premier League Utd

David de Gea (Spain/Man Utd)

Vincent Kompany (Belgium/Man City), Jan Vertonghen (Belgium/Tottenham) Cesar Azpilicueta (Spain/Chelsea)

Mo Salah (Egypt/Liverpool), N’Golo Kante (France/Chelsea), Kevin de Bruyne (Belgium/Man City), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea)

Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Man City), Harry Kane (England/Tottenham).

Subs: Roberto Firmino (Brazil/Liverpool), Sadio Mane (Liverpool/Senegal), Gabriel Jesus (Brazil/Man City), Christian Eriksen (DenmarkTottenham), Mesut Ozil (Germany/Arsenal), David Silva (Spain/Man City), Olivier Giroud (France/Chelsea), Paul Pogba (France/Man Utd)


The Premier League players in action at World Cup 2018:

Arsenal (8): David Ospina (Colombia), Danny Welbeck (England), Mohamed Elneny (Egypt), Mesut Ozil (Germany), Alex Iwobi (Nigeria), Nacho Monreal (Spain), Stephan Lichsteiner (Switzerland), Granit Xhaka (Switzerland).

Bournemouth (0): Lewis Cook (on standby for England)

Brighton (3): Matt Ryan (Australia), Jose Izqueirdo (Colombia), Leon Balogun (Nigeria)

Burnley (2): Nick Pope (England), Johann Gudmundsson (Iceland)

Cardiff (2): Marko Grujic (Serbia), Aron Gunnarsson (Iceland)

Chelsea (12): Willy Caballero (Argentina), Thibaut Courtois (Belgium), Michy Batshuayi (Belgium), Willian (Brazil), Andreas Christensen (Denmark), Gary Cahill (England), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (England), N’Golo Kante (France), Olivier Giroud (France), Antonio Rudiger (Germany), Kenneth Omeruo (Nigeria), Cesar Azpilicueta (Spain).

Crystal Palace (1): Luka Milivojevic (Serbia)

Everton (3): Jordan Pickford (England), Gylfi Sigurdsson (Iceland), Idrissa Gueye (Senegal)

Fulham (0)

Huddersfield (3): Aaron Mooy (Australia), Jonas Lossl (Denmark), Mathias Jorgensen (Denmark)

Leicester City (8): Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark), Harry Maguire (England), Jamie Vardy (England), Shinji Okazaki (Japan), Adrien Silva (Portugal), Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria), Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria), Yohan Benalouane (Tunisia).

Liverpool (7): Simon Mignolet (Belgium), Roberto Firmino (Brazil), Dejan Lovren (Croatia), Trent Alexander-Arnold (England), Jordan Henderson (England), Mo Salah (Egypt), Sadio Mane (Senegal).

Man City (16): Nicolas Otamendi (Argentina), Sergio Aguero (Argentina)., Vincent Kompany (Belgium), Kevin de Bruyne (Belgium), Ederson (Brazil), Danilo (Brazil), Fernandinho (Brazil) Gabriel Jesus (Brazil), Kyle Walker (England), Raheem Sterling (England), Fabian Delph (England), John Stones (England), Benjamin Mendy (France), Ilkay Gundogan (Germany), Bernado Silva (Portugal), David Silva (Spain).

Man United (12): Sergio Romero (Argentina), Marcos Rojo (Argentina), Marouane Fellaini (Belgium), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium), Marcus Rashford (England), Jesse Lingard (England), Phil Jones (England), Ashley Young (England), Paul Pogba (France), Nemanja Matic (Serbia), David de Gea (Spain), Victor Lindelof (Sweden).

Newcastle (1): Aleksandar Mitrovic (Serbia).

Southampton (4): Maya Yoshida (Japan), Jan Bendarek (Poland), Cedric (Portugal), Dusan Tadic (Serbia).

Tottenham (12): Toby Alderweireld (Belgium), Jan Vertonghen (Belgium), Mousa Dembele (Belgium), Davinson Sanchez (Colombia), Christian Eriksen (Denmark), Danny Rose (England), Dele Alli (England), Harry Kane (England), Eric Dier (England), Kieran Trippier (England), Hugo Lloris (France), Heung-Min Song (South Korea).

Watford (1): Andre Carrillo (Peru).

West Ham (3): Javier Hernandez (Mexico), Joao Mario (Portugal), Cheikhou Kouyate (Senegal).

Wolves (2): Aldred N’Diaye (Senegal), Romain Saiss (Morocco)

Related Articles

All the team news for the opening weekend of the Premier League

Mauricio Pochettino: Spurs may miss transfer targets

Manchester City defender Pablo Maffeo to join Stuttgart

All these Premier League records were rewritten in the 2017-18 season

More in this Section

Caulfield hoping Cork City will prove ‘nightmare’ to Polish champions Legia

Breaking Stories

Andrew Robertson hails Liverpool’s battling qualities at Huddersfield

Messi to miss El Clasico after being ruled out for three weeks with arm fracture

Bernardo Silva insists Manchester City are hungry for more success

A look at Brooks Koepka’s rollercoaster 2018

Breaking Stories

6 secrets for a smoother journey when flying with a newborn baby

More From The Irish Examiner