New boss Taylor must play catch-up as Limerick build for promotion

The protracted saga of the hunt for a new manager of Limerick will finally end later this week when Stuart Taylor is unveiled as the successor to Pat Scully.

The 38-year-old Glaswegian has League of Ireland experience from a season playing with Drogheda United 10 years ago but the midfielder spent most of his career in Scotland where his clubs included St Mirren, Airdrie, Falkirk, Patrick Thistle, St Johnstone, Ross County, Airdrie and a period as both player and coach at Hamilton Academical.

The new man’s appointment comes as the conclusion to a long-running succession stakes which saw Limerick linked with some big name candidates — among them Phil Brown, Kevin Kilbane and Peter Taylor — before the deal was finally struck with Taylor, whose backroom staff will also be unveiled this week.

With the club having lost ground on their competitors in terms of squad formation, Taylor will need to hit the ground running in attempting to source the additional players Limerick will require as they prepare to return to the top-flight of the Airtricity League and make the high-profile move to their temporary home of Thomond Park, where the visit of Cork City will mark the start of their Premier League campaign in March.

Meanwhile, former boss Pat Scully, who led the Limerick to promotion as First Division champions last season, has named an 18-man squad for the FIFPro Tournament 2013 which takes place on Thursday at the Vallhall Arena in Oslo, Norway.

The four-team tournament for out-of-contract players will be made up of sides from Ireland, Norway, Sweden and Finland.

“I’m really looking forward to the tournament,” said manager Scully.

“The preparations have been good, we’ve been training since the end of November and we played two games [v Malahide United, lost 2-1, and v Glebe North, won 1-0]. This is a great experience for both the players and staff, and we’re all looking forward to kicking off the event on Thursday morning.”

PFAI IRELAND SQUAD: Craig Hyland, Charlie Treacy, Niall O’Reilly, Stephen Maher, Stephen Paisley, Mark Rossiter, Shane Tracy, Liam Burns; David O’Leary, Craig Walsh, Barry O’Mahony, Peter McMahon, Peter Higgins, Danny Joyce, Dean Marshall, Tadhg Purcell, Stephen O’Flynn, Mark Leech.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox