Clonmel back on top after Newcastle West slip-up

Junior Rugby: Focus

Clonmel are back on top of Division 1 of the Munster Junior League after Newcastle West collapsed at Kilfeacle and Dungarvan have won the Third Division title.

For the third week running there are new leaders in Division 1 after Clonmel bounced back from the shock defeat by Senan’s to beat St. Mary’s 46-0.

The winners led 17-0 at half time when they were awarded a penalty try and Morgan Lyons also scored a try. Conor Cooney converted both and also added a penalty. Mark Corby, Luke Hogan, Ronan Cross, Darren Cass and Greg Carroll scored second half tries and Cooney added two conversions.

Kilfeacle scored seven tries in their 35-15 home win over leaders Newcastle West. Danny Lamb, Pat Ryan, Darren Lowry, Keith Bourke, Dermot Carr and JJ Cooney were Kilfeacle try scorers. James Kelly and Tommy Kelleher replied with tries for Newcastle West and Alan Roche kicked a conversion and a penalty.

St. Senan’s had to come from 17-5 down to beat Kinsale 31-17 to stay in third place. Kinsale raced into an early lead with two tries from Sean Kingston and one by Dan O’Brien with Kingston adding a conversion. Warren Kelly scored two tries for the Clare side and Jake Egan, Tom Cronin and James Keogh got one each. Declan Rowe kicked three conversions.

Muskerry kept their challenge alive for a top four finish with a 15-8 win over Skibbereen at Ballyanly. Joe Tracey scored two tries for the winners and Jonathan Buckley kicked a conversion and a penalty. Rory Hoen replied with a try for Skibbereen and Ger Hurley kicked a penalty.

Tralee remain in serious trouble of relegation after they left a 17-3 lead slip at Cobh to lose 29-17. Eoin Geary scored two tries for Cobh and Tomas Keaveny and Dave Lamb also got tries. Greg Higgins kicked three conversions and a penalty. Gavin Peevers and Dan O’Connor replied with tries for Tralee and both were converted by Mike Mullaly, who also added a penalty.

Galbally defeated Old Christians 27-11 with tries from Kevin O’Donoghue, Brendan Childs, Michael Donovan, Jack Donovan and Podge Halloran. Sean Bourke kicked one conversion. Sam O’Connell replied with a try for Old Christians and Sean Meaney kicked two penalties.

Bandon won their top of the table clash at home to Thurles 33-0 in Division 2. Conor Pullan, Colin Jackson, Jack Murphy and Enda Phelan were Bandon’s try scorers and Richard Walsh kicked three penalties and two conversions.

Clanwilliam remain in second place after defeating Ballincollig 22-3. Ian O’Rahelly, Niall Leahy, Andrew Bennie and Bryan O’Rahelly scored tries for the Tipperary side and Leahy added a conversion. Richard Dineen kicked an early penalty for Ballincollig.

Castleisland were held to a 20-20 draw away to Presentation. Willie Casey scored two tries for the Kerry side and Shane O’Connell got one. Danny O’Shea kicked a conversion and a penalty.

Tries from Ray Ryan and Martin Wynne helped Newport to a 15-8 home win over Killarney. Philip O’Brien kicked a conversion and a penalty.

Abbeyfeale defeated Youghal 13-11 with tries from Dan Murphy and Daniel Ward. Tomas Hassett kicked a penalty. Youghal replied with a try from Killian Daly and a penalty each by Keith McCarthy and Aaron Daly.

Ennis defeated bottom side Crosshaven 29-13. Noel Downs, Jason Considine, Alan Brandon, Paul Finucane and Brian Dolan scored tries for Ennis.

More in this section

CourtsRugbyPlace: BallyanlyPlace: CobhPerson: SenanPerson: Morgan LyonsPerson: Conor CooneyPerson: Mark CorbyPerson: Luke HoganPerson: Ronan CrossPerson: Darren CassPerson: Greg CarrollPerson: CooneyPerson: Danny LambPerson: Pat RyanPerson: Darren LowryPerson: Keith BourkePerson: Dermot CarrPerson: JJ CooneyPerson: James KellyPerson: Tommy KelleherPerson: Alan RochePerson: Sean KingstonPerson: Dan O’BrienPerson: KingstonPerson: Warren KellyPerson: Jake EganPerson: Tom CroninPerson: James KeoghPerson: Declan RowePerson: MuskerryPerson: SkibbereenPerson: Joe TraceyPerson: Jonathan BuckleyPerson: Rory HoenPerson: Ger HurleyPerson: TraleePerson: Eoin GearyPerson: Tomas KeavenyPerson: Dave LambPerson: Greg HigginsPerson: Gavin PeeversPerson: Dan O’ConnorPerson: Mike MullalyPerson: GalballyPerson: Kevin O’DonoghuePerson: Brendan ChildsPerson: Michael DonovanPerson: Jack DonovanPerson: Podge HalloranPerson: Sean BourkePerson: Sam O’ConnellPerson: Sean MeaneyPerson: BandonPerson: Conor PullanPerson: Colin JacksonPerson: Jack MurphyPerson: Enda PhelanPerson: Richard WalshPerson: Ian O’RahellyPerson: Niall LeahyPerson: Andrew BenniePerson: Bryan O’RahellyPerson: LeahyPerson: Richard DineenPerson: Willie CaseyPerson: Shane O’ConnellPerson: Danny O’SheaPerson: Ray RyanPerson: Martin WynnePerson: Philip O’BrienPerson: Dan MurphyPerson: Daniel WardPerson: Tomas HassettPerson: Killian DalyPerson: Keith McCarthyPerson: Aaron DalyPerson: EnnisPerson: Noel DownsPerson: Jason ConsidinePerson: Alan BrandonPerson: Paul FinucanePerson: Brian DolanEvent: Munster Junior LeagueOrganisation: Newcastle WestOrganisation: KilfeacleOrganisation: DungarvanOrganisation: St. Mary’sOrganisation: St. SenanOrganisation: KinsaleOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: CobhOrganisation: Old ChristiansOrganisation: ThurlesOrganisation: ClanwilliamOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: CastleislandOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: NewportOrganisation: AbbeyfealeOrganisation: YoughalOrganisation: Crosshaven

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox