The British Horseracing Authority will “look into” the final race at Kempton on Wednesday evening after the winner, Isdaal, raced from the wrong stall.
The Kevin Morgan-trained 33-1 shot should have raced from stall 13 but stablemate Haames ended up leaving from the wider berth, with Isdaal racing form stall eight.
A statement issued by the BHA read: “We will be looking into the circumstances surrounding the 9.10 race at Kempton last night where two horses started from the incorrect stalls.
“The rules provide that it is the ultimate responsibility of the jockeys to ensure they enter the correct stalls.
“There are, however, procedures to be followed at the start of the race which can mitigate the risk of such incidents occurring. We will look to see if these procedures have been followed correctly before deciding what action to take.
“The incident was not picked up by the stewards on the day. However, had the stewards been aware of the incident, their only course of action would be to determine whether the riders involved should be suspended or not.
“The entry point penalty for accidentally starting from the wrong stalls is one day.
“There is no provision for disqualification of any horses involved or the voiding of the race by the stewards.”
© Irish Examiner Ltd. All rights reserved