Star line-up for Carlow Rallysprint

Past and present Billy Coleman award winners dominate the 100-strong entry list for today’s Carlow Rallysprint at Mondello Park.

Newly crowned incumbent Monaghan’s Stephen Wright will campaign his Irish Tarmac Group N winning Mitsubishi Evo IX.

Former winners Craig Breen and Robert Barrable are set to drive Ford Escorts rather than the cars they use in their respective European Rally Championship and WRC 2 campaigns. Breen will double drive the James Coleman Mk. 2 Escort that he used in the Killarney and Donegal International events, while Barrable will double drive a Ford Escort with Colin O’Rourke.

Former Irish Forest champion Tipperary’s Pat O’Connell (Mitsubishi) has also entered. The practice run is at 9.15am with the first of three times running at 10.15am.

Elsewhere, the 5-Star Catering National Loose Surface Autocross Championship concludes with the Cork Autocross at Ightermurragh near Ladysbridge today.

While Roscommon’s Derek Deane (JB Buggy) has wrapped up the overall award, top saloon driver Limerick’s Matt Shinnors and Ballyvourney’s James Lucey are in contention for the runner-up spot. The event is also the final and deciding round of the Munster Autocross series with Lucey holding a slim four point advantage over Tipperary driver Whitby Moynan, both in Specials.

Owen Murphy is the top saloon driver and holds third overall. The first of the three timed runs begins at 11am. Tomorrow’s Cavan Autocross at Latton Quarry begins at 11am.


We need lots of Vitamin A and D. Liver from lamb, beef, pork and poultry are all rich sources of both Vitamin A and D which work together to boost our resistance.Darina Allen: Let’s concentrate on food that helps to strengthen our immune system

More From The Irish Examiner