Sligo and Leevale take top honours at road relays

David Harper

Sligo AC retained their men’s title while Leevale’s women went on the roll of honour for the first time at the Woodie’s DIY National Road Relay Championships in Raheny, Dublin yesterday.

The men’s 8 mile relay (consisting of 2 mile, 1 mile, 3 mile and 2 mile legs), was all but decided on the crucial three mile leg where Alberto Sanchez of Sligo ran the fastest time of the day in 14:20. This left David Harper to lead them home to glory, running 9:38 for two miles and an overall time of 38:08. Emmett Dunleavy (9:43 for two miles) and Dermot McDermott (4:27 for one mile) were the other team members.

Ennis Track Club were second in 38:36 while Clonliffe Harriers were third in 38:50.

Leevale were welcome winners of the women’s four-mile relay (1 mile, 2 mile, 1 mile) in 21:24. Carol Finn led them on their way with 5:12, handing over to Sinéad O’Connor (11:07) and an excellent last leg by Claire McSweeney in 5:05. Crusaders were 11 seconds adrift on 21:35 with DSD third in 21:39.

The University Track and Field Championships were staged in the RSC stadium, Waterford. Marcus Lawler (IT Carlow) was the standout athlete, winning the 100m (11.21) and 200m (22.00) in headwinds.

Nicola Duncan (Galway City Harriers) moved to 5th on the Irish women’s marathon all-time list with 2:33:28 in London in a race won by Edna Kiplagat in 2:20:21. Wilson Kipsang won the men’s race in a new course record of 2:04:27. Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham) was the best of the Irish in the Rotterdam marathon in 2:17:45.


Scene and Heard with Des O'Driscoll

Literary couple among the authors at Listowel Writers' Week

LS Lowry in the picture

Angela Barnes will be tickling Kilkenny crowd at Cat Laughs

More From The Irish Examiner