New look Cork impress with 27-point haul

Cork 0-27 Waterford 1-16: Ronan Dwane’s Cork were impressive eight-point winners over Waterford in yesterday’s Munster intermediate hurling championship semi-final.

On a largely forgettable afternoon for Cork hurling, Dwane’s charges provided some solace in the curtain-raiser before the senior clash.

And it was good stuff from Cork as a new-look team ran up 27 points, with 10 different scorers on target.

It was all change for the Rebels, operating with a fresh deck under rule following last year’s All-Ireland final.

But the mix was potent as all six forwards, both midfielders, centre back Donncha O’Donovan and sub John Sheehan contributed on the scoresheet.

Goalkeeper Paudgie Buckley was inspired, too, pulling off three superb second half saves.

He was powerless to prevent Owen Connors scrambling home Waterford’s goal shortly after half-time but stood firm to repel further Déise attacks.

After Cork led by 0-18 to 0-8 at half-time, the Connors goal brought Waterford back into it but five points was as close as they got as Cork advanced to a final clash with Tipperary or Limerick on July 8.

Dwane said: “It was a great win, we played really, really well in the first half. The goal after half-time gave us a bit of a setback and gave them hope but we weathered a tricky enough patch and came back well at the end.

“It was a new team, a lot of fellas who hadn’t played minor or U21 for Cork. It was great for them, they were bound to be a bit nervous but they have a lot of work done.”

Scorers for Cork:

N McNamara 0-7 (4f, 2 65s), D Flynn, W Leahy & D O’Donovan (3f) 0-3 each, A Cagney, M Collins, F O’Leary, T Murphy & J Sheehan 0-2 each, S McCarthy 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford:

O Connors 1-8 (0-8f), T Waring 0-3, P Walsh 0-2, J Dee, T Connors & M O’Brien 0-1 each.


P Buckley; B Ó’Tuama, E Finn, G Murphy; K Kavanagh, D O’Donovan, T Lawrence; D O’Flynn, S McCarthy; W Leahy, A Cagney, M Collins; N McNamara, F O’Leary, T Murphy.


J Sheehan for Cagney (46), A Sheehan for Murphy (53), P Butler for Kavanagh (57).


E Lynch; S O’Keeffe, J Maher, Eoin Madigan (Roanmore); J Dee, K Fitzgerald, Eoin Madigan (De La Salle); H Barnes, P Walsh; O Connors, T Connors, M O’Brien; D Lyons, T Waring, M.F. O’Neill.


T Ryan for O’Brien (30+1), E Dunphy for Eoin Madigan (De La Salle) (37), D Walsh for Barnes (49).


Damien Fox (Clare).

More on this topic

CIT hold off Carbery fightback

Smooth Seandún brush past Beara challenge

Cork’s survival now rests in Tipperary’s hands

Cork's Harnedy looks set to miss Tipp match


Video: This is how you can master Marie Kondo’s ‘life-changing’ method of tidying up

Cookbook review: The Flexible Pescatarian by Jo Pratt

How to make your garden a plastic-free zone

4 things you need to know about matcha, the form of green tea that’s getting a lot of buzz

More From The Irish Examiner