Moynan comes good to retain Munster crown

Nenagh’s Whitby Moynan (Toyota Special) clinched the Munster Autocross Championship in dramatic fashion with the fastest time on the fourth and final run of the Cork Autocross at Coachford yesterday.

Moynan, the defending champion, along with Maynooth’s Joe MacHale (Rage Buggy) and Ballyvourney’s James Lucey (Subaru Special) were all in contention for the Munster title.

All three were well off the pace on the opening run as Irish Forest Rally Championship regular, Ger Connors (Subaru) set the best time — covering the route on a time of two minutes and 1.5 seconds.

North Cork driver, Jimmy Deane (Ford Escort) was his closest rival, some three tenths of a second behind.

MacHale was best of the championship chasing trio despite handbrake trouble. Moynan lost precious seconds when his Toyota Special stalled; Lucey hit a bale and was off the track for a time.

On the second run, MacHale remained best of the championship contenders, in event terms.

Lionel Percy (Honda Special) dictated the pace with a time of one minute and 57.59 seconds with former Irish Forest Rally champion, Owen Murphy (Toyota Corolla) offering the best opposition.

Percy continued to lead after the third run, clocking a minute and 55.34 seconds with Murphy remaining a gallant second.

For the third successive time, MacHale was quicker than Moynan and Lucey, who both had problematic outings again.

On the fourth and final run, Moynan, having sorted his Toyota Special, punched in the best time of the day — 1minute 52.43 seconds — to take event and championship victory.

Percy also improved his time but had to be content with second with Murphy third.

MacHale was fourth to finish runner up in the Munster series. James Lucey drove the Special belonging to his father, Jimmy on the final run, although he was outside the top six, he did secure third overall in the Munster series.

In Mondello Park, Waterford’s Eddie Power (Toyota Corolla WRC) took victory in the Carlow Rallysprint. Graham Kelly (Escort G4) was second with edging Ian Gunning (Ford Escort) to the runner-up spot.

CORK AUTOCROSS, Coachford: 1. W. Moynan (Toyota Special) 1m. 52.43s; 2. L. Percy (Honda Special) 1m. 55.34s; 3. O. Murphy (Toyota Corolla) 1m. 56.25s; 4. J. MacHale (Rage Buggy) 1m. 58.28s; 5. D. Beamish (Vauxhall Nova) 1m. 58.93s; 6. G. Connors (Subaru) 1m. 59.84s.

CARLOW RALLYSPRINT, Mondello Park: 1. E. Power (Toyota Corolla WRC) 14m. 07.20s; 2. G. Kelly (Escort G4) 14m. 13.09s; 3. I. Gunning (Ford Escort) 14m. 13.70s; 4. K. Power (Renault Clio S1600) 14m. 18.43s; 5. B. Ryan (Escort) 14m. 19.54s; 6. P. O’Connell (Mitsubishi) 14m. 19.88s; 7. T. Culbert (Ford Escort) 14m. 25.72s.


Not all trends are created equal. Some are exciting – like first-date butterflies; others are comforting – like ice-cream and Golden Girls reruns.Trend of the Week: Floral free for all

Veterinary medicine is a demanding career, leading to mental health problems for some vets.Elephant in the clinic: Helpline offers support to vets with mental health difficulties

Pearl Lowe turns 50 in April – and she’s got a lot to celebrate. TA look into the reinvention of Pearl Lowe

Bonnie Ryan couldn’t be happier.On a roll: Why Bonnie Ryan couldn't be happier

More From The Irish Examiner