TV analyst: My criticism of Tiger went too far

The Golf Channel analyst who compared a rules violation by Tiger Woods to his own episode of cheating on a fourth-grade math test has admitted the comment was a mistake.

Brandel Chamblee also stated he would stop writing for the website where his column appeared.

“I said Tiger Woods was cavalier about the rules. I should have stopped right there,” Chamblee said yesterday morning in his first appearance on the Golf Channel since his column was posted to nearly two weeks ago.

“In comparing those incidents to my cheating episode in the fourth grade, I went too far. Cheating involves intent.

“Now, I know what my intent was on that fourth-grade math test. But there’s no way that I could know with 100% certainty what Tiger’s intent was in any of those situations. That was my mistake.”

Woods and his agent Mark Steinberg at Excel Sports had put pressure on the Golf Channel to get a retraction from Chamblee.

“All I am going to say is that I know I am going forward,” Woods said onMonday before an exhibition in China. “But then, I don’t know what the Golf Channel is going to do or not… So the ball really is in the court of the Golf Channel and what they are prepared to do.”

Steinberg previously told that he was considering legal action.

Chamblee apologised to Woods last week on Twitter but didn’t back away from his criticism, and he didn’t apologise outright to Woods on the Golf Channel.

Chamblee had written of being caught cheating in school and how the teacher had crossed a line through his 100 and given him an F. He then wrote: “I remember when we only talked about Tiger’s golf. I missed those days. He won five times and contended in Majors and won the Vardon Trophy and… how shall we say this… was a little cavalier with the rules.”

He then gave Woods a 100 with a line through it, followed by the F.

Meanwhile, England’s Simon Dyson said he is happy to appear before a disciplinary panel which could ban him from the European Tour after insisting his disqualification from the BMW Masters last week was due to “an accidental mistake”.

Dyson was joint second after 36 holes at Lake Malaren when he was disqualified for signing for an incorrect score in the second round. The 35-year-old failed to add a two-shot penalty to his card after an incident on the eighth hole, when he touched the line of his putt after marking his ball.

Having reviewed the matter, senior European Tour officials concluded that an investigation into an alleged “serious breach” of the Tour’s code of behaviour was required.

In a statement released by his management company, Dyson said: “I have been informed of the procedure being put in place by the Tour following my actions during the second round of the BMW Masters in Shanghai last week and am perfectly happy to co-operate with the investigation by the independent disciplinary panel.

“I would like to say at this stage that I have never deliberately broken the rules either on this occasion or in the past.

“It was only after I was shown the replay of my action after marking the ball on the eighth green during the second round that I realised what I had done and that I was in breach. I immediately accepted that I should be disqualified.

“My action was in no way a deliberate act with the intention of breaking the rules. It was simply an accidental mistake which I have no reservations in apologising for and particularly to my fellow professionals and the Tour for any inconvenience and embarrassment unintentionally caused.”


About 70% of our planet is covered in water, in one form or another and it is vital to our survival.Appliance of science: Where does water come from?

NAYA, a female wolf, arrived in Belgium in January last year.Naya’s ‘death’ leaves August a lone wolf

First up: The Crown on Netflix.Five things for the week ahead

Seán O’Sullivan owns Badly Made Books, a stationery, design and printing shop/workshop at 1, Friar Street, Cork.We Sell Books: Sean O'Sullivan is binding his time in a job he loves

More From The Irish Examiner