Young and Maher get nod for Tipperary

LIAM SHEEDY has made four changes to his Tipperary starting line-up as they attempt to revive their All-Ireland SHC challenge in tomorrow’s qualifier tie against Wexford in Semple Stadium after the defeat against Cork in the Munster quarter-final in May.

Toomevara’s David Young and Lorrha’s Patrick Maher are handed their championship debuts at right half-back and left half-forward respectively. Gearóid Ryan will make his first championship start at right half-forward while Conor O’Brien returns to the team at left corner-back. Paddy Stapleton and Paul Curran are both ruled out through injury, Brian O’Meara is suspended and John O’Brien is the fourth player to make way. In positional switches Declan Fanning moves to full-back, Padraic Maher to left half-back, Noel McGrath to right corner-forward and Lar Corbett to full-forward.

Wexford boss Colm Bonnar has also made four changes for the game against Tipperary from the team that were defeated by Galway in the Leinster championship first-round tie at the end of May. Paul Roche and David Redmond come into the defence at the expense of Lar Prendergast and Malachy Travers. In attack, Tomás Waters replaces the suspended captain Diarmuid Lyng at centre-forward while Tomás Mahon comes in at left corner-forward for Michael Jacob.

Galway captain Michéal Meehan returns to the starting line-up for tomorrow evening’s Connacht SFC semi-final replay against Sligo in Markievicz Park. Meehan has shaken off injury to be named at right corner-forward, with Matthew Clancy going to let half-forward, Joe Bergin switching to midfield and Paul Conroy the player to make way.

The Galway hurlers will delay naming their team for the Leinster decider againstKilkenny on Sunday due to injury worries. David Collins (calf) and Iarla Tannian (quad) are doubts, while Niall Healy (hamstring) and David Burke (suspended) are both ruled out. Carlow manager Kevin Ryan has made one change for tomorrow afternoon’s All-Ireland SHC qualifier phase one clash against Antrim with Eddie Byrne coming in at left half-forward for Hugh P O’Byrne.

Meanwhile both Antrim and Kildare have delayed naming their sides for tomorrow’s All-Ireland SFC qualifier round one replay in Casement Park. Antrim boss Liam Bradley may recall Micheal Magill to his starting line-up but CJ McGourty has quit the panel due to a lack of game time. Kildare’s hopes of success have been boosted with Alan Smith, Keith Cribbin, David Whyte and Ken Donnelly all having recovered from injury.

Westmeath hurling boss Kevin Martin has made two changes for Saturday’s Christy Ring Cup final against Kerry from the team that defeated Kildare at the semi-final stage. Adam Price comes in at right corner-back for Gerard Gavin, while dual star Paul Greville replaces Andrew Dermody at right corner-forward. Dublin minor manager John Murphy has announced the same starting 15 that defeated Wexford last weekend for next Sunday’s Leinster MHC final against Kilkenny in Croke Park.

Meanwhile Mick O’Dwyer has confirmed to RTÉ that he wants to continue in inter-county management. It had been thought the Kerry legend might bring an end to his time patrolling the sidelines following Wicklow’s defeat to Cavan in the All-Ireland football qualifiers last Saturday. But 74-year-old O’Dwyer said yesterday he wants to keep managing, although he hasn’t confirmed whether that will be with Wicklow.

TIPPERARY (SH v Wexford): B Cummins; M Cahill, D Fanning, C O’Brien; D Young, C O’Mahony, Padraic Maher; B Maher, S McGrath; G Ryan, S Callanan, Patrick Maher; N McGrath, L Corbett, E Kelly.

WEXFORD (SH v Tipperary): N Carton; P Roche, K Rossiter, C Kenny; R Kehoe, D Stamp, D Redmond; C Farrell, H Kehoe; P Atkinson, T Waters, E Quigley; R Jacob, S Banville, T Mahon.

GALWAY (SF v Sligo): A Faherty; K Fitzgerald, F Hanley, A Burke; G Bradshaw, D Blake, G O’Donnell; N Coleman, J Bergin; G Sice, S Armstrong, M Clancy; M Meehan, P Joyce, E Concannon.

SLIGO (SF v Galway): P Greene; C Harrison, N McGuire, R Donovan; K Cawley, B Phillips, J Davey; T Taylor, S Gilmartin; A Costello, M Breheny, K Sweeney; C McGee, E O’Hara, D Kelly.

Subs: J Farrell, S Coen, S Davey, N Ewing, K Finan, G Gaughan, A Marren, P McGoldrick, D McLynn, E Mullen, J Murphy, F Quinn, D Rooney, S Stenson, B Kennedy.

CARLOW (SH v Antrim): F Foley; A Corcoran, S Kavanagh, D Shaw; E Coady, E Nolan, R Coady; J Hickey, D Byrne; C Doyle, M Brennan, E Byrne; A Gaule, D Murphy, P Kehoe. Subs: K Kehoe, D Miley, D Kavanagh, R Foley, J Rogers, HP O’Byrne, E Minchin, R Kelly, E Kane, C Hughes, G Kelly, A Brennan, A McDonald, D Roberts, B Lawlor.

WESTMEATH (SH v Kerry): P Burke; A Price, J Shaw, O Price; R Whelan, A Mitchell, D McCormack; J Clarke, L Smyth; S Bardon, B Murtagh, E Loughlin; P Greville, B Leharte, D Carthy. Subs: P Dowdall, P Gilsenan, A Dermody, A Farrell, K Brazil, T Gillen, N Williams, N Flanagan, J Hardman, D Golden, C Jordan, C Curley, A Dowdall.

DUBLIN (MH v Kilkenny): E Dillon; C Murphy, E McKenna, S McClelland; C Crummy, D Sutcliffe, B Quinn; N Maguire, F Heavey; G Whelan, A Clabby, D Forde; J Hetherton, C Kilkenny, D Flood. Subs: C O’Mahony, E Small, B McCarthy, C Moffat, D Kelly, N Ryan, C Costello, M McCaffrey, D Mulligan.


The actor knows how to impress when it comes to high profile events.6 times Katie Holmes wowed on the red carpet

Glamour, fun and feathers all feature in this year’s hottest looks – but first and foremost, individual style rules.10 on-trend ways to transform your home in 2020

Abi Jackson shares the enduring appeal of Pooh Bear’s wisdom on Winnie-the-Pooh Day – author A.A. Milne’s birthday.Winnie-the-Pooh Day: The wellbeing lessons we can learn from Pooh Bear

We asked three experts for the low-down on shampooing frequency.How often should you really wash your hair?

More From The Irish Examiner