Vaughan answers call for Banner

CLARE senior hurling manager Mike McNamara has made one change to the team which defeated Waterford in the opening round for Sunday’s Munster Championship semi-final against Limerick at Semple Stadium.

Injury has ruled Darragh Clancy out and he is replaced by Paddy Vaughan. The Crusheen club man’s inclusion means a positional switch, with Brendan Bugler moving to left corner back and Vaughan taking over at right half back.

Declan O’Rourke who was absent through injury for the Waterford game, is now fit and the Wolfe Tones forward takes his place on the bench on Sunday.

Limerick coach Richie Bennis gives a championship debut to Paudie O’Dwyer for Sunday’s glamour clash. O’Dwyer has been chosen at centre back on a team that also includes Stephen Lucey, who has fully recovered from injury, at full back.

Donnacha Sheehan from county champions, Adare, has been named at left corner forward, with the Moran brothers Niall and Ollie at right and centre forward respectively. Long serving Mark Foley will captain the team from left-half back as last year’s defeated All-Ireland finalists set out on what they hope will be a journey that will take them to the ultimate prize next September.

Brian Geary who has been sidelined for several months is named in the substitutes.

Derry coach Paddy Crozier makes one change to his team from the side that defeated Donegal in the previous round for Sunday’s Ulster SFC clash with Fermanagh.

Francis McEldowney who started in Ballybofey, retains his place due to the suspension of Fergal Doherty; Sean Martin Lockhart picked up a quad injury in a club game and is ruled out,. Joe Keenan and Michael McBride were not considered due to back injury and ankle injury respectively.

LIMERICK (SHC v Clare): B Murray; D Reale, S Lucey, M O’Riordan; S Hickey, P O’Dwyer, M Foley (capt.); M O’Brien, D O’Grady; M Fitzgerald, O Moran, N Moran; A O’Shaughnessy, S O’Connor, D. Sheehan.

DERRY (SFC v Fermanagh): B. Gillis; K. McGuckin, K. McCloy, F. McEldowney; G. O’Kane, N. McCusker, M. Mc Ivor; J. Conway, J. Diver; M. Lynch, P. Murphy, E. Muldoon; C. Gilligan, P. Bradley, E. Bradley.

CLARE (SHC v Limerick): P. Brennan; G. O’Grady, F. Lohan, B. Bugler; P. Vaughan, C. Plunkett, P. Donnellan; B. O’Connell (capt.), C. Lynch; D. McMahon, T. Griffin, J. Clancy; N. Gilligan, T. Carmody, M. Flaherty.


SECOND Captains is one of the long-running success stories in Irish podcasting. Ostensibly a sports show led by Eoin McDevitt, Ken Early, and Ciarán Murphy, the former Off The Ball team from Newstalk launched the podcast in mid-2013. two Monday shows are offered for free, with Tuesday-Friday behind a Patreon subscriber model and dubbed ‘The World Service’. It has more than 11,500 subscribers.Podcast Corner: First-class podcasts from Second Captains

The incredible life of Ireland’s first celebrity chef has been turned into a play, writes Colette SheridanHow Maura Laverty cooked up a storm

Their paths first crossed on the top floor of the library at University College Cork in October 2010 when both were students there so Amy Coleman and Steven Robinson were delighted to retrace their footsteps on their big day.Wedding of the Week: College sweethearts open new chapter

Peter Dowdall reveals why all roads will lead to Tullow in County Carlow on February 1Snowdrop patrol: Why all roads will lead to County Carlow

More From The Irish Examiner