Tadgh Corkery goal crucial as Cill na Martra win a thriller

Cill na Martra 2-11 Kilmeen 1-13: A thrilling Cork County U21 B Football Championship final ended with victory by the narrowest of margins for Cill na Martra at sunny Páirc Uí Rinn last night.

Tadgh Corkery’s second-half goal proved the difference between two determined sides.

First blood went to Kilmeen with a point from Damian O’Gormon inside two minutes, but they were pegged back and overtaken with points from Damian Harrington and Darren Furey in the fourth and fifth minutes.

Kilmeen equalised through Shane Scannell after nine minutes and then, with a second free from O’Gormon, they regained the lead before Ogie Scannell tacked on another point immediately.

Cill na Martra keeper James Aynsley was deemed to have handled a shot from Liam Daly behind the line as Kilmeen led 1-3 to 0-2 before Michal Desmond pulled a point back and then Gearoid O Faolain grabbed a sensational goal to leave just one score between the sides.

Daire MacLochlainn continued the resurgence for Cill na Martra with a 19th minute equalising point. All to play for again even after Aynsley’s great save from Shane O’Donovan, the goalbound shot instead bouncing over the bar.

That lead was forged in the 21st minute and was retained right to the half-time break as Kilmeen led 1-7 to 1-6.

There was a dramatic opening to the second half, with Damian O’Gormon knocking over a point for Kilmeen but Cill Na Martra kicked on with two points to add to another from Daire MacLachlainn. After 37 minutes, the West Cork side went in front for the first time and were four points ahead when Corkery hammered home his side’s second goal after 39 minutes. A James Clancy point hauled them back to just a goal advantage.

It was all to play for in the closing minutes but Kilmeen came up just short.

Scorers for Cill na Martra:

G O Faolain, T Corkery 1-0, M Desmond 0-7 (0-3f), D MacLachlainn 0-2, D Harrington, D Furey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilmeen:

L Daly 1-0, D O’Gormon 0-4 (0-3f), S O’Donovan 0-3, J Clancy, S Scannell, D Santry 0-2 each.

Cill na Martra:

J Aynsley, D O Riordain, G O Goilli, F O Faoilain, E O Loingsigh, A O Cuana, P O Criodain, T O Corcora, M O Deasuna, G O Faoilain, D O hUrdail, D MacLochlainn, S O Foirreidh, D O Foirreidh, S O Croinin.


W Tyner, S Deasy, L O’Brien, B Keohane, O Scannell, J Deasy, K Keohane, L Daly, S Scannell, C McCarthy, S O’Donovan, F Deasy, D O’Gormon, J O’Donovan, J Clancy. Subs. D Santry for S Deasy (ht), C O’Donovan for F Barrett (45). Referee. B Walsh (Aghada).

Related Articles

Imokilly's Paudie O’Sullivan: ‘It is not your club, but we are a seriously tight unit’

'That was 2017, not 1986': Rena Buckley shares shocking story about West Cork medal ceremony

Beast from the East remains respected rather than loved by Cork hurling family

Seamus Harnedy: ‘We wanted to show everyone 2017 wasn’t a once-off’

Breaking Stories

Milwaukee Brewers on top in National League Championship Series

Ben Davies ready for ‘intense’ Republic of Ireland clash

Football rumours from the media

'Never give up' - Galway's Emma Slevin's advice to aspiring gymnasts after her fourth Youth Olympics final

Breaking Stories

Meet the A-listers of Zeminar 2018

Impressive double act kicks off Wexford Festival Opera

Boyhood dream becomes a reality for filmmaker George Morrison

More From The Irish Examiner