Premier stars set for Munster opener

Declan Ryan will have attacking aces Eoin Kelly, Seamus Callanan and Patrick Maher back in his selection plans for Sunday week’s Munster SHC quarter-final against Limerick but the Tipperary manager remained tight-lipped as to whether returning star Lar Corbett will be in contention for the Semple Stadium clash.

Ryan revealed last night Adrian Ryan is the only confirmed absentee and expressed delight at Corbett linking back up with the squad last Tuesday night.

“It was a big surprise when Lar decided to opt out earlier in the year but we were all delighted when he decided to come back. Luckily he doesn’t put up a lot of weight. It’s going to take him a number of weeks to get up to speed but it’s good to have him back.”

Meanwhile Limerick boss Maurice Horan has handed Drom-Broadford player Eoin Barry his championship debut by naming him at right half-forward for Sunday’s Munster SFC quarter-final against Waterford. Paul Kinnerk makes his first championship start at midfield while Thomas Lee, who missed the entire league campaign, will partner him.

Elsewhere, former Dublin dual star Shane Ryan has announced his retirement from intercounty hurling due to a persistent back injury. Ryan, 33, is stepping down to preserve his club career.

And new Offaly boss Tom Coffey has quashed speculation that veteran Ciarán McManus is to return to the senior football squad. There had been increasing talk of McManus making a return ahead of the Leinster SFC clash against Kildare on June 16th but Coffey, has confirmed that McManus will not feature.

LIMERICK (SF v Waterford): B Scanlon; J McCarthy, P Browne, L O’Dwyer; S Lavin, J Riordan, P Ranahan; T Lee, P Kinnerk; E Barry, E O’Connor, S Buckley; G Collins, S O’Carroll, I Ryan.

CARLOW (SH v Laois): F Foley; A Corcoran, E Nolan, E Coady; J Corcoran, S Kavanagh, R Coady; J Kavanagh, A Gaule; E Byrne, J Kane, C Doyle; M Kavanagh, M Brennan, D Roberts.

LAOIS (SH v Carlow): E Reilly; C Coonan, D Maher, G Burke; C Dunne, M Whelan, M McEvoy; J Walsh, S Hanlon; S Maher, B Dunne, W Hyland; T Fitzgerald, N Foyle, D O’Mahoney.


Fearless is a slick new documentary airing next Monday on RTÉ 1 which follows Cork native and editor-in-chief of US Glamour, Samantha Barry, in the run up to the 29th Glamour Women of the Year Awards. Ruth O’Connor speaks to Barry about her editorship of one of Condé Nast's most important media outlets.The fearless Samantha Barry: From Ballincollig in Cork to editor of Glamour

More From The Irish Examiner