O’Sullivan keeps Legion dream alive

O’Donoghue Cup final: Rathmore 0-12 Killarney Legion 1-9

The first East Kerry SFC (O’Donoghue Cup) final since 2005, not featuring Dr Crokes, will require a replay, as Legion came from four points down with eight minutes remaining to rescue a draw at Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney yesterday.

Rathmore had looked like winning for the first time since the decider nine years when Michael O’Riordan’s sixth point of the game, in the 48th minute, edged them 0-12 to 0-8 ahead.

County star Aidan O’Mahony scored two points in the second period, as Rathmore asserted themselves on the restart, having trailed by 0-6 to 0-5 at half-time.

Conor Keane was quite the handful for the Rathmore defence, however colleague David O’Sullivan proved the star man for Legion, hitting 1-4.

O’Sullivan struck the game’s only goal in the 53rd minute and landed the injury time free, after he himself was fouled — which tied the game for the final time.

There was one more chance for the Killarney side to snatch victory, but it was not to be, as the competition will have its first final replay since 1999.

The replay is fixed for Sunday, December 7 at 2pm.

Scorers for Rathmore: M O’Riordan (0-6, 5f), M Reen (0-3), A O’Mahony (0-2) and G O’Keeffe (0-1).

Scorers for Killarney Legion: D O’Sullivan (1-4, 3f), C Keane (0-4) and K Slattery (0-1).

RATHMORE: P McCarthy, C Jenkins, J O’Sullivan, C Murphy, C O’Connor, P Murphy, A O’Mahony, D O’Sullivan, B O’Keeffe, C O’Sullivan, G O’Keeffe, P Reen, M Reen, M O’Riordan, E Lawlor.

Sub: J Moynihan for P Reen (56).

KILLARNEY LEGION: B Kelly, P O’Connor, E O’Carroll, T Slattery, D Sheahan, J Lyne, D O’Sullivan, M O’Sullivan, B McGuire, J O’Neill, K Slattery, S McCarthy, D O’Sullivan, S Keane, C Keane.

Subs: D Lyne for J O’Neill (49), K Breen for S Keane (52), T Moriarty for K Slattery (56) and D Pyne for O’Neill (59).

Referee: J O’Sullivan (Firies).


Weekend Food: Darina Allen introduces you to some of her favourite Sri Lankan dishes

More From The Irish Examiner