Mulcahy snub baffling

The omission of Cork’s Valerie Mulcahy — player of the match in both the Division 1 National League final and the All-Ireland final — was the big talking point from Saturday’s TG4 All-Star awards.

In the latter game alone, Cork’s top scorer in 2014 manufactured six points, five from play, and gave the assist for Rhona Ní Bhuchalla’s game-changing goal which saw Eamonn Ryan’s side come back from 10 points down with 15 minutes remaining to win their ninth championship title in 10 years.

Mulcahy took it all in her stride however, but many took to Twitter, including Ireland and Hull soccer ace David Meyler and Rugby World Cup star Niamh Briggs.

Dublin’s Lindsay Peat was also unlucky not to be named in the full-forward line, instead the honour went to Aileen Pyers of Down.

It seemed strange however given that Pyers didn’t win the Intermediate Players’ Player of the Year. Sinéad Burke of Galway was another surprise absentee, especially considering that she was on the Senior Players’ Player of the Year shortlist alongside winners Angela Walsh and Caroline O’Hanlon.

But, controversy aside, there was joy for Dublin’s Noelle Healy and Cork’s Vera Foley who picked up their first All Stars, and for Intermediate Players’ Player of the Year Caroline Little of Fermanagh, who got engaged before the event.

Dual star Briege Corkery also completed a double All-Star win following her camogie one a week ago, and now the 2014 Cork captain boasts 13 All-Star awards — eight in football (one short of Mayo great Cora Staunton’s nine) and five in camogie.

TG4 204 ALL STAR TEAM: Ciamh Dollard (Laois) (first All Star); Mairéad Tennyson (Armagh) (first All Star), Angela Walsh (Cork) (6th All Star), Bríd Stack (Cork) (6th All Star); Vera Foley (Cork) (1st All Star), Sinead Goldrick (Dublin) (3rd All Star), Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork) (5th All Star); Briege Corkery (Cork) (8th All Star), Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh) (3rd All Star); Noelle Healy (Dublin) (1st All Star), Ciara O’Sullivan (Cork) (2nd All Star), Cora Courtney (Monaghan) (2nd All Star); Lyndsey Davey (Dublin) (2nd All Star), Sinead Aherne (Dublin) (4th All Star:), Aileen Pyres (Down) (1st All Star).

Senior Player’s Player of the Year: Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh).

Intermediate Player’s Player of the Year: Caroline Little (Fermanagh).

Junior Player’s Player of the Year: Aileen Pyres (Down).

2014 Ladies Football Hall of Fame: Phyllis Hackett Price (Offaly).

2014 Connacht Young Player of the Year: Rebecca Waldron (Mayo).

2014 Leinster Young Player of the Year: Róisín Egan (Offaly).

2014 Munster Young Player of the Year: Aishling Moloney (Tipperary).

2014 Ulster Young Player of the Year: Geraldine Smith (Cavan).


Cupid must be something of a motoring enthusiast, as he had most definitely steered his way in the neighbourhood when Amie Gould and Shane O’Neill met at the Rally of the Lakes 12 years ago.Wedding of the Week: Cupid steers couple to right track

When it comes to podcasting, all it takes is one idea — and who knows where it can take you.Podcast Corner: Crimes and creatures rule at Cork’s first podcast fest

Claymation meets science fiction in this enchanting film, writes Esther McCarthy.Latest Shaun adventure is out of this world

After breaking through as a character with mental health issues in her hit TV series, Irish actress Aisling Bea is happy to take another step to stardom in a new Netflix comedy with Paul Rudd, writes Ed Power.Aisling Bea and Paul Rudd team up for new comedy

More From The Irish Examiner