Mayo cruise to victory

Mayo claimed their first Connacht JFC title since 2007 when they beat Galway 2-12 to 0-10 at Hyde Park yesterday.

The Tribesmen took an early lead as Mayo proved wasteful in front of goals, kicking 16 wides.

Galway held the lead until the second-half when Davitts Aidan McTigue squared the contest with a point, fired in a goal seconds later and his clubmate Ronan McNamara banged over a free to send Mayo four clear with 10 minutes left. From there, Mayo cruised to victory with Simon Cloherty, Alan Egan, Michael Walsh and McNamara points and a Colin Dempsey goal.

Breaking Stories

Brais Mendez's debut goal gives Spain friendly win over Bosnia

Michael O’Neill urges Northern Ireland to forget the Nations League

O’Neill angrily defends his handling of Declan Rice situation

Former Wales captain Gareth Thomas victim of homophobic assault in Cardiff

Breaking Stories

Wishlist: Colour Christmas gifts for the home

Live by the book or create your own wonderful outlook

Interiors are brought back to book

Significant winter auctions of Irish art are under way

More From The Irish Examiner