Mary I storm into Fitzgibbon Cup final four

Mary Immaculate College, Limerick 4-18 NUI Galway 1-16: Aaron Gillane caught the eye once again for Mary Immaculate College as the holders stormed into the last four of the Fitzgibbon Cup.

Gillane, scorer of 3-9 against DIT in Mary I’s final group game, bagged 2-10 to send NUI Galway, hosts of finals weekend, to an eleven-point defeat.

Gillane, who was recently cut from the Limerick senior panel, had eight points on the board by half-time – including four from play – before bagging two classy second half goals.

But the best goal of the game was knocked home by Cork’s rising star Luke Meade, who brilliantly controlled Tadhg Gallagher’s delivery from the right touchline on his stick before batting home from close range, all in one, fluid movement.

That was Mary I’s second goal of the game, in the 20th minute, after Gallagher had found the net himself in the fourth minute, pouncing from close range after Colm Galvin rattled the crossbar with a fierce shot.

NUIG were heavily reliant on Gerry Hennelly’s free-taking to remain in touch and they were six points behind at half-time – 0-11 to 2-11.

There was a consolation goal for NUIG three minutes from time when Gearoid Loughnane pounced after Hennelly’s free was blocked.

Mary I march on and will play Limerick IT or UCD in the last four.

Scorers for Mary I: A Gillane 2-10 (0-4f, 0-2 65s), L Meade 1-2, T Gallagher 1-0, M O’Neill 0-3, D O’Donovan 0-2, T Monaghan 0-1.

Scorers for NUI Galway: G Hennelly 0-9 (6f, 1 65), G Loughnane 1-0, C Whelan 0-3 (1f, 1 sl), C Cleary (f), I Fox, O Donnellan & S Conlon 0-1 each.

Mary I: C Barrett (Tipperary); D Sweeney (Tipperary), R English (Limerick), E Quirke (capt. – Clare); C Twomey (Cork), R Maher (Tipperary), A Flynn (Tipperary); C Galvin (Clare), S Cahill (Tipperary); D O’Donovan (Limerick), M O’Neill (Clare), A Gillane (Limerick); T Gallagher (Tipperary), C Lynch (Limerick), L Meade (Cork).

Subs: T Monaghan (Galway) for Gallagher (39), T Grimes (Limerick) for Gillane (45), C Stapleton (Laois) for Twomey (49), T O’Mahony (Cork) for Lynch (51), P O’Connell (Clare) for O’Donovan (55).

NUIG: C Tuohy (Galway); C Ryan (Tipperary), G Fennelly (Tipperary), G Forde (Galway); S Moloney (Galway), C Cleary (capt. – Clare), M Connelly (Galway); I Fox (Galway), O Donnellan (Clare); G Loughnane (Galway), K McHugo (Galway), C Whelan (Galway); G Hennelly (Galway), S Conlon (Tipperary), A Helebert (Galway).

Subs: N Mitchell (Westmeath) for Helebert (39), J Commins (Galway) for McHugo (44), C Cosgrove (Galway) for Connelly (54), S Barrett (Galway) for Loughnane (57).

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

More on this topic

Cavan’s Graham well versed in delivering Mission Impossible

‘Will Silke and Burke be the outliers?’

Strong, silent-type Kenny prefers to fly under radar

Healy believes Donoghue has found his Tribe


Bargain buys to add a touch of spring to your home

Finding your tribe

Irish people living in US lockdowns and fearing for the lives of their children

Ask Audrey: What's the story with dying your pubes?

More From The Irish Examiner