Inniscarra and Bride Rovers turn on the style to reach final

INNISCARRA and Bride Rovers are through to the permanent tsb Cork County IHC final thanks to victories over Aghabullogue and Youghal, respectively, over the weekend.

Four divisional junior finals were fought out, three in football and one hurling.

In the Mid-Cork hurling final at Coachford, Grenagh had an exciting 1-14 to 2-9 victory over Ballincollig.

In football Fermoy beat Mitchelstown 1-8 to 0-8 in the Avondhu decider at Kilworth, Urhan and Garnish were involved in another draw in the Beara decider at Adrigole 1-15 to 2-12, after extra-time, while in the South-West final at Ballineen, Carbery Rangers beat Barryroe 0-15 to 0-6.

In the Cork County JAFC quarter-final at Ballyclough, Mayfield defeated Millstreet 0-13 to 0-8.

The next-door neighbour clash between Inniscarra and Aghabullogue was always going to be a battle of wills and a giant-killing challenge for the victors. And, what a classic it turned out to be with Inniscarra grinding out a hard-earned 3-9 to 3-8 triumph in the dying moments of an epic semi-final at Páirc Uí Chaoimh yesterday.

Last weekend Inniscarra stole a late show against Carrigtwohill, hitting a goal and a point at the death. They again performed the supernatural, stunning

Aghabullogue with two goals and a point - this time inside a four-minute spell before the break. Bolstered by this two-goal blast they coasted through the bulk of the second-half, but they were almost downed in a remarkable finish.

Scorers Inniscarra: D O'Riordan 1-3 (0-1 free, 0-2 65m), J Hogan 1-2, D O'Connell 1-1, D Holland 0-2 and J Carey (sub) 0-1.

Aghabullogue: D Kiely 2-1, F Foley 1-3 (0-2 frees), D Twomey, E Twomey, D O'Leary (65m) and N Buckley 0-1 each.

Bride Rovers turned in a sparkling second-half display to overwhelm Youghal 2-14 to 1-7 in a hard fought semi-final replay at Ballynoe.

They shrugged off the lacklustre performance of a week earlier to produce some high quality play and Youghal were a well beaten team before the finish.

Scorers for Bride Rovers: P Cotter 1-1, S Ryan 0-4, D Ryan 1-0, B Hazelwood 0-3, J O’Driscoll 0-2, T Broderick 0-2, M Hogan and P Walsh 0-1 each.

Youghal: B Ring 1-1, J Grace, B Coleman, J P Joyce, D Ring, E Coleman and P Ó Laochdha 0-1 each.

There was lots of history attached to Saturday's Muskerry JAHC final.

Ballincollig and Grenagh had never before met in a divisional hurling final, the game was played in Coachford's splendid new pitch and a magnificent trophy dedicated to the memory of former Aghabullogue chairman John Sheehan was presented for the first time to winning captain Tom Kenny.

Grenagh won 1-14 to 2-9.

Scorers for Grenagh: Diarmuid Dorgan (0-2 frees) and G Russell 0-4 each, P McDonnell 1-0, D Daly 0-2, A O'Neill, J Russell, J O'Neill and T Kenny 0-1 each.

Ballincollig: N Connaughton 2-0, D Twohig 0-3 (0-2 frees), D Dwyer 0-2 (frees), P Twomey, B Cotter, C Cronin and E Dineen 0-1 each.

Playing with a new found urgency after the break, Fermoy put paid to Mitchelstown’s three-in-a-row aspirations in a competitive North Cork JFC final at Kilworth on Saturday, winning their sixth title, their first since 1997, in the process.

A 36th minute goal from wing-forward Nigel Larner set up this hard earned victory, but the introduction of Mark Kenny for the second-half changed Fermoy’s fortunes.

Scorers for Fermoy: N. Larner 1-2 (0-2 frees), P. Lonergan (free), M. Hennessey, S. McCarthy, I. O'Callaghan, M. Kenny, P. Hickey 0-1 each.

Mitchelstown: M. Allen 0-3 (0-2 frees), P. Donegan, J. Barrett (frees) 0-2 each, D. Lynch 0-1.

The mentors tried everything, the players gave their all and the subs made a huge contribution on both sides but nothing, not even extra- time, could separate the Urhan and Garnish in yesterday’s Beara JAFC final replay at Adrigole, Garnish battling back in extra-time to set up a second replay 2-12 to 1-15.

Scorers: Urhan: C Harrington 0-9 (0-4 frees), C O’Sullivan 0-4 frees, C “Seer” O’Sullivan 1-0, D.J O’Shea and J O’Shea 0-1 each.

Garnish; S Murphy 1-2, D O’Sullivan 1-1, F O’Sullivan 0-4 (0-2 frees), T Bowe 0-4 (0-1 free), B Walsh 0-1.

IT may have taken raging hot favourites Carbery Rangers all of 30 minutes to turn on the style but, when they did, they produced a spell-binding second-half performance that earned them a clearcut 0-15 to 0-6 victory over Barryroe and their 10th South West Cork J“A”FC title at Enniskeane yesterday.

Much of that magic was produced after the break was generated by Cork minor footballer John Hayes, who was named man of the match long before referee, Martin Collins, blew the full time whistle.

Scorers for Carbery Rangers: J. Hayes 0-4 (0-3 frees), M. Moore 0-3, N. Hayes, S. Hayes, D. Hayes 0-2 each, J. Murphy and G. Wicherley 0-1 each.

Barryroe: G. Coleman 0-3 (0-1 free), J. Fleming 0-2 (0-1 free), D. Harrington 0-1.

Mayfield’s search for a breakthrough in the permanent tsb JAFC remains on course after a comfortable 0-13 to 0-8 victory over Millstreet in yesterday’s quarter-final played in Ballyclough.

Scorers for Mayfield: B Hegarty 0-5(0-1 free), E Crowley 0-3, S Kiely, T Lotty, D Lucey, C Brosnan and R Scannell 0-1 each.

Millstreet: D Kiely 0-4(0-3 frees), T O’Connor, T Collins, B A Kelleher (free) and F O’Leary 0-1 each.

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: CoachfordPlace: KilworthPlace: AdrigolePlace: BallineenPlace: BallycloughPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: BallynoePlace: EnniskeanePerson: AghabulloguePerson: InniscarraPerson: CarrigtwohillPerson: D O'RiordanPerson: J HoganPerson: D O'ConnellPerson: D HollandPerson: J CareyPerson: D KielyPerson: F FoleyPerson: D TwomeyPerson: E TwomeyPerson: D O'LearyPerson: N BuckleyPerson: YoughalPerson: P CotterPerson: S RyanPerson: DPerson: B HazelwoodPerson: J O’DriscollPerson: M HoganPerson: P WalshPerson: B RingPerson: J GracePerson: B ColemanPerson: J P JoycePerson: D RingPerson: E ColemanPerson: P Ó LaochdhaPerson: GrenaghPerson: John SheehanPerson: Tom KennyPerson: Diarmuid DorganPerson: G RussellPerson: P McDonnellPerson: D DalyPerson: A O'NeillPerson: J RussellPerson: J O'NeillPerson: T KennyPerson: D TwohigPerson: D DwyerPerson: P TwomeyPerson: B CotterPerson: C CroninPerson: E DineenPerson: FermoyPerson: Nigel LarnerPerson: Mark KennyPerson: N. LarnerPerson: P. LonerganPerson: M. HennesseyPerson: S. McCarthyPerson: I. O'CallaghanPerson: M. KennyPerson: P. HickeyPerson: M. AllenPerson: P. DoneganPerson: J. BarrettPerson: D. LynchPerson: UrhanPerson: GarnishPerson: C HarringtonPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: C “Seer” O’SullivanPerson: D.J O’SheaPerson: J O’SheaPerson: S MurphyPerson: D O’SullivanPerson: F O’SullivanPerson: T BowePerson: B WalshEvent: Cork County IHCEvent: -CorkEvent: County JAFCEvent: Muskerry JAHC finalEvent: North Cork JFCOrganisation: InniscarraOrganisation: Bride RoversOrganisation: AghabullogueOrganisation: YoughalOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: FermoyOrganisation: MitchelstownOrganisation: AvondhuOrganisation: BearaOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: BarryroeOrganisation: MayfieldOrganisation: MillstreetOrganisation: CoachfordOrganisation: Beara JAFCOrganisation: South West Cork J“A”FC
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.