Tigerish Tipperary’s whirlwind finish overhauls Dublin

Tipperary 2-17 Dublin 1-15: When eventually the Dublin dam gave way, Liam Cahill’s young charges flooded through to devastating effect – seven-points in the final 12 minutes comfortably progressing Tipperary to the All-Ireland minor final.

Trailing by 1-14 to 2-10 on 48 minutes, the Munster champions hurled up a storm in the closing quarter to out-score their opponents by 0-7 to 0-1.

Dublin corner-back Conor Ryan had taken up the role of sweeper from the off and the concession of two first-half goals aside, Johnny McGuirk’s side had been relatively successful in containing the opposition attack.

As legs and minds tired, however, Dublin’s defensive positioning became ragged and Tipperary capitalised to great effect. Their passing was clever, their shooting near flawless - Lyndon Fairbrother (0-4, 0-2 frees and a ‘65), Tommy Nolan and subs Shane Neville and Ruadhán Mulrooney finding the target.

“In the last 15 minutes our lads got their heads around the system of trying to break down the number of players Dublin had behind the ball. The switches we made in the last quarter paid dividend too,” said winning manager Liam Cahill.

The Premier County opened proceedings in a similarly clinical fashion to the way they finished, 1-3 on the board inside nine minutes.

Tommy Nolan set up full-forward David Gleeson for the contest’s opening major and though Dublin replied with four on the bounce through Matthew Oliver (0-3) and Cíaran Dowling, Cian Darcy put Nolan inside the cover on 18 minutes for Tipperary’s second goal.

At the other end, Alex Considine had twice been denied a green flag by impressive corner-back James Quigley and it was Considine who provided the defence-splitting pass for a Fergal Whitley goal on 21 minutes, 2-3 to 1-5 now read the scoreline.

Dowling and Oliver had Dublin level by the break – the pair hitting 0-14 of their 1-15 tally – and while they twice hit the front at the change of ends, the Capital boys were undone by Tipperary’s unstinting workrate and the losing of their own shape.

Scorers for Tipperary:

T Nolan (1-3); L Fairbrother (0-7, 0-4 frees, 0-1 ’65); D Gleeson (1-0); R Mulrooney (0-2); D Carey, C Darcy, G Ryan, A Tynan, S Neville (0-1 each).

Scorers for Dublin:

M Oliver (0-10, 0-7 frees, 0-1 ’65); C Dowling (0-4); F Whitley (1-0); A Considine (0-1).


E Skelly (Na Fianna); C Hendricken (Naomh Mearnóg), D Butler (Kilmacud Crokes), C Ryan (Craobh Chiaráin); D Gray (Whitehall Colmcille), P Smyth (Clontarf), E Foley (Naomh Ólaf); M Oliver (Na Fianna), C Sammon (Craobh Chiaráin); M Maguire (St Jude’s), C Dowling (Lucan Sarsfields), E Conroy (St Maur’s); F Whitley (Kilmacud Crokes), A Considine (Kilmacud Crokes), E Dunne (St Brigid’s).


C O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s) for Dunne (41 mins), G King (Na Fianna) for Whitley (43), D Ryan (St Brigid’s) for Gray (46), C Burke (St Vincent’s) for O’Sullivan (58), S Hickey (Fingallians) for Sammon (60).


P Hayes (Ballingarry); E Heffernan (Clonoulty Rossmore), E Moloney (Drom & Inch), J Quigley (Kildangan); K Hassett (Drom & Inch), B McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), D Peters (Kilruane MacDonaghs); D Carey (Templederry Kenyons), L McCutcheon (Templederry Kenyons); G Ryan (Borrisokane), A Tynan (Roscrea), C Darcy (Kilruane McDonaghs); T Nolan (Drom & Inch), D Gleeson (Ballinahinch), L Fairbrother (JK Brackens).


R Mulrooney (Portroe) for McCutcheon (25 mins), J Skehan (Holycross Ballycahill) for Darcy (47), M Connors (Drom & Inch) for Gleeson (47), S Neville (Lattin Cullen) for Ryan (61).


P O’Dwyer (Carlow).

Related Articles

Moyle star Peter Acheson to miss Munster date with Dr Crokes

Lar Corbett fears calendar has left club players ‘in limbo’

Brendan Cummins pleads patience with Liam Sheedy’s Tipp return

Skipper John O’Keeffe hails Clonoulty’s special bond

Breaking Stories

Martin O’Neill opts to leave Danish date up to Michael Obafemi

GAA turn blind eye to own training camp rules

Breaking Stories

Four home remedies that can soothe a seasonal sore throat

I’m A Celebrity: As contestants land in Oz – these are the 10 emotional stages of a long haul flight

Victoria Beckham, Kim Kardashian and Rita Ora: All the best looks from the E! People’s Choice Awards

Alcohol Awareness Week: How to talk to your children about alcohol

More From The Irish Examiner