Second-half goals seal victory for Cork

Cork 2-12 UCC 0-13: Cork retained the Canon O’Brien Cup, but UCC did put up a spirited fight in terrible conditions at the Mardyke.

A second-half goal from Paudie O’Sullivan, when UCC were a bit too close for Cork’s comfort, and sub Darragh Fitzgibbon’s strike at the death were enough for Cork.

In truth, though, the downpour meant it was difficult for anybody to make an impression. In the first half, Cork looked to be coasting as their greater spread of scoring threats allowed them to build a 0-7 to 0-2 lead by the 19th minute, but they wouldn’t score again in the 30-minute half.

UCC closed to within one, Robert O’Shea on target from frees while Alan Cadogan also impressed and Michael Breen should have goaled just before the break, shooting wide after Niall McCarthy’s put him in.

O’Sullivan struck for Cork’s first goal early in the second half, a smartly-taken finish after over-elaboration in the hosts’ defence. Anthony Spillane might have replied with a UCC goal but Anthony Nash was equal to his effort. Despite a pair of points from midfielder Paul Haughney, Cork couldn’t fully pull away either and scores from O’Shea and Cadogan had UCC back to within one, 1-9 to 0-10. Had Fitzgibbon not been denied a goal by the helmet of UCC keeper Jack Barry, Cork would have been safe, but as it was, a point from College’s Cormac Murphy left just two in it entering injury time.

UCC needed a goal, but it came at the other end. O’Sullivan’s gave Pa Cronin a chance, and while Barry saved, Fitzgibbon batted the rebound home.

Scorers for Cork:

P O’Sullivan 1-4 (one free, one 65), P Haughney 0-5, D Fitzgibbon 1-0, P Cronin, M Coleman, W Leahy 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCC:

R O’Shea 0-7 (frees), A Cadogan 0-3, C Murphy, M Breen, M O’Brien 0-1 each.


A Nash (Kanturk); C O’Sullivan (Sarsfields), P O’Mahony (Midleton), A Dennehy (Charleville); S O’Neill (Bishopstown), W Egan (Kilbrin), N Cashman (Blackrock); P Haughney (Midleton), D Kearney (Sarsfields); P O’Sullivan (Cloyne), W Leahy (Aghada), S Moylan (Douglas); L Meade (Newcestown), P Cronin (Bishopstown), D Lee (Na Piarsiagh).


D Browne (Kanturk) for O’Mahony (25-30, blood), D Fitzgibbon (Charleville) for Leahy (43), M Coleman (Blarney) for Meade (53), C Buckley (Na Piarsaigh) for Kearney (55, injured).

UCC (Cork clubs unless stated):

J Barry (Castlelyons); E Gough (Dicksboro, Kilkenny), C Spillane (Castlelyons), G O’Brien (Roanmore, Waterford); R Cahalane (Ballymartle), D Morrissey (Ahane, Limerick), C Murphy (Mallow); J Barron (Fourmilewater, Waterford), M O’Brien (Ferrybank, Waterford); C Walsh (Midleton), M Breen (Ballina, Tipperary), N McCarthy (Carrigtwohill); A Spillane (Castlelyons), A Cadogan (Douglas), R O’Shea (Carrigaline).


E Finn (St Finbarr’s) for Walsh (39), C Walsh (St Finbarr’s) for O’Brien (46), S O’Keeffe (Blackrock) for McCarthy (48), M O’Connor (Douglas) for Cadogan (51), M Howard (Passage) for O’Shea (55).


D Kirwan (Éire Óg).

Breaking Stories

Welbeck: I’ll be back stronger than ever

Andy Farrell insists New Zealand still the world’s best even if Ireland win

Discovery’s Susanna Dinnage named as Premier League’s new chief executive

Proposed football rule changes to be discussed by Council finalised

Breaking Stories

As Nadiya Hussain opens up about anxiety: 7 ways to feel better after a panic attack

Ask a counsellor: Did I make a mistake becoming a mum?

Café with appetite for change at UCC

Making Cents: Claim tax refunds now, have money before Christmas

More From The Irish Examiner