Late points save St Colman’s

Thurles CBS 3-13 St Colman’s, Fermoy 1-19 (aet): Thurles CBS and St Colman’s Fermoy could not be separated despite playing 20 minutes extra-time in the final of the Dean Ryan Cup at the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday.

The teams were level after 30 minutes, 1-4 to 0-7, with the Thurles goal arriving in the 27th minute from Darren Flood from a penalty after Jack Lanigan had been fouled.

Conleith Ryan posted six of the St Colman’s points in that opening half.

They were deadlocked a number of times in the second-half with Thurles banging home a second goal in the 35th minute from Lanigan after being set up by Kieran Moloney.

However, the Fermoy team responded very quickly with a goal from David Morrisson a few minutes later.

It was 2-11 to 1-14 after the hour with Thurles securing some good scores from Darragh Tynan, Flood, Lanigan and Jack Morrissey.

James Kearney, Ryan, Eoin Carey and Conor Barry did likewise for Fermoy but there was still no resolution after the hour.

Sub Eoin Purcell delivered a third goal for Thurles in extra-time but points from Brian Roche, Carey and Barry again for St Colman’s ensured that the sides must do it all over again in the replay. In the final analysis it was the right outcome between two very committed sides.

Scorers for St Colman’s :

C Ryan 0-10 (0-8f), D Morrisson 1-1, J Kearney, C Barry 0-2 each, E Carey 0-2f, B Roche 0-1, J Molloy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Thurles CBS :

D Flood 1-7 (0-5f), J Lanigan 1-1, E Purcell 1-0, D Tynan 0-2, J Morrissey 0-2, K Moloney 0-1.


B Hogan (Bride Rovers), L Aherne (Fermoy), J Scannell (Fermoy), J Mannix (Bride Rovers), D O’Leary (Watergrasshill), E Roche (Bride Rovers, E Buckley (Ballyhooly), E Carey (Kilworth), B Roche (Bride), P O’Flynn (Bride), C Ryan (Bride), J Molloy (Fermoy), D Morrisson (Castlelyons), P O’Leary Watergrasshill), J Kearney (Castlelyons).


J Kenny (Castlelyons and C Barry Bride Rovers for Buckley and Molloy, D Collins (Ballyhooly for O’Flynn, M Quinn (Bride Rovers) for Kearney, D O’Connor (Castletownroche) for O’Leary, D O’Neill (Castletownroche for D Morrisson.


K Bracken (Durlas Og), J Hickey (Emeralds), P Melbourne (Moycarkey), J Synott (Roscrea), K Hayes (Moycarkey), Z Johnson (Moycarkey), K Tuohy Moyne-Templetuohy), K Moloney (Durlas Og), J Morrissey (Moycarkey), K Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane), D Flood (Moycarkey), D Tynan (Roscrea), P Doyle (Galmoy) J Lanigan (Durlas Og), M Hackett (Moycarkey).


E Purcell (Durlas Og) for Doyle, E Morris (Holycross) for Lanigan, J Kirwan (Moycarkey-Borris) Moloney, D Ryan (Kickhams) for K Ryan.


D Fox (Clare).


Conservationist Giles Clark takes on the illegal wildlife trade, as well as the task of building a bear sanctuary in Laos, South-east Asia, in BBC Two series Bears About The House.Five minutes with ... Giles Clark

Forget G-spots. Let's focus on the C-spot and close the orgasm gap once and for all.Sex File: The G-spot is dead. Long live the C-spot

Workshop leaders from the West Cork Literary Festival offer tips for writing in areas such as biography, short stories and travel, writes Des O’DriscollSo you want to be a writer?

'He told us we were so scared of dying, we forgot how to live” - Guru: The Dark Side of Enlightenment is this week's podcast pickPodcast Corner: Guru tells of sweat-lodge tragedy and James Arthur Ray

More From The Irish Examiner