Eoghan Ruadh keep title

Eoghan Ruadh 0-14 Éire Óg 1-05
Tyrone senior hurling champions Eoghan Ruadh Dungannon retained their title yesterday with a commanding display against Éire Óg Carrickmore.

Damian Casey led his side to Benburb Cup triumph with nine points. A solid defensive performance in the second half, with Ryan Winters, Pádraig McHugh and Stephen Donnelly outstanding, held Éire Óg scoreless for more than half an hour.

Dungannon corner-back Conor McNally made amends for conceding a penalty by saving Ciarán Slane’s effort. It wasn’t until stoppage time that the losers registered their first score of the second-half, when Gary Fox flicked Conor Grogan’s free to the net.

EOGHAN RUADH: J Devlin, C Casey, R Winters, C McNally, P McHugh, S Donnelly, R Devlin, M Devlin, M Winters (0-1), C McCrudden, T Morgan, C McErlean (0-1), M Mulgrew (0-1), D Casey (0-9, 8f), K Morgan (0-2).

Subs: B McGilloway for K Morgan, M Maneely for Mulgrew, P Lavery for McCrudden.

ÉIRE ÓG: C McElhatton, J Kelly, B Begley, A McKernan, S P Begley, M Grogan, D Begley, A Kelly, G Fox (1-0), C Meenagh, S Og Grogan (0-1), M Mullan, C Slane (0-2, 2f), C Grogan (0-2), B McGurk.

Subs: L Moore for Meenagh, P McCallan for J Kelly, J Kerr for Mullan.

Referee: S Quinn (Brackaville).

Breaking Stories

Martin O’Neill opts to leave Danish date up to Michael Obafemi

GAA turn blind eye to own training camp rules

Breaking Stories

Four home remedies that can soothe a seasonal sore throat

I’m A Celebrity: As contestants land in Oz – these are the 10 emotional stages of a long haul flight

Victoria Beckham, Kim Kardashian and Rita Ora: All the best looks from the E! People’s Choice Awards

Alcohol Awareness Week: How to talk to your children about alcohol

More From The Irish Examiner