Cusack Park gates set to reopen for Clare club clashes

The gates of Cusack Park could be reopened later this month to stage the third round of Clare SHC games.

The €2.3m redevelopment of the Ennis venue commenced less than two-weeks ago after the start date had twice been pushed back to accommodate various Clare teams throughout the summer, most recently the Munster U21 hurling final between Clare and Limerick on July 30.

The roof of the main stand is almost removed and it was expected that no games would be played at the county’s primary ground until early in 2016, owing to obvious healthy and safety concerns.

However, next weekend’s third round Clare SHC fixtures have been provisionally scheduled for Cusack Park.

Moreover, the county board are in the process of trying to facilitate the playing of the senior championship quarter-finals at Cusack Park next month. Supporters are likely to be accommodated in the terraces behind both goals and the covered stand which sits opposite the main stand.

A final decision on a venue for the four round 3 games – Éire Óg v Crusheen, Inagh-Kilnamona v Kilmaley, Newmarket-on-Fergus v Tulla and Cratloe v O’Callaghans Mills – is expected from Monday’s fixtures committee meeting.

Meanwhile, Tipperary minor hurling manager Liam Cahill has named an unchanged team for Sunday’s All- Ireland semi-final against Dublin.

Corner-back Emmet Moloney, centre-back Brian McGrath, half-forward Alan Tynan and corner-forward Tommy Nolan all started for the county’s minor football side in their All-Ireland quarter-final win over Galway a fortnight ago.

Elsewhere, Rena Buckley returns to the Cork ladies football team for their All-Ireland quarter-final against Galway at the Gaelic Grounds tomorrow evening.

Orla Finn is the player to lose out, with Annie Walsh moving to the half-forward line.


P Hayes (Ballingarry); E Heffernan (Clonoulty Rossmore), E Moloney (Drom & Inch), J Quigley (Kildangan); K Hassett (Drom & Inch), B McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), D Peters (Kilruane MacDonaghs); D Carey (Templederry Kenyons), L McCutcheon (Templederry Kenyons); C Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs), G Ryan (Borrisokane), A Tynan (Roscrea); T Nolan (Drom & Inch), D Gleeson (Ballinahinch), L Fairbrother (JK Brackens).


M O’Brien (Clonakilty); M Ambrose (St Val’s), B Stack (St Mary’s), A Barrett (Donoughmore); V Foley (St Val’s), D O’Reilly (St Mary’s), G O’Flynn (St Mary’s); B Corkery (St Val’s), R Buckley (Donoughmore); C O’Sullivan (Mourneabbey), A Hutchings (Fermoy), A Walsh (Inch Rovers); V Mulcahy (Rockbán), A T O’Sullivan (Beara), Rhona Ní Bhuachalla (Naomh Fionbarra).


Esther McCarthy previews some of the Fleadh’s Irish and international offerings.How to attend the Galway Film Fleadh from the comfort of your own couch

Whether you’re on staycation or risking a trip away, Marjorie Brennan offers suggestions on novels for a wide variety of tastesThe best fiction books for the beach and beyond this summer

Q. Sometimes I know that an orgasm just isn't going to happen. Is it really so bad to fake it?Sex File: Is it wrong to fake an orgasm?

Financial advice with Gráinne McGuinnessMaking Cents: You have made your home beautiful in lockdown, now make sure it is properly protected

More From The Irish Examiner