Clarke goal crucial for Castletown-Geoghegan

Castletown-Geoghegan 1-12 St Oliver Plunkett’s 0-11
Castletown-Geoghegan won the Westmeath SHC title for the first time since 2004 when they defeated Mullingar side St Oliver Plunkett’s by four points at Cusack Park, Mullingar, yesterday.

Castletown got off to a great start when man of the match Aonghus Clarke grabbed a well-taken goal in the third minute. As it turned out, this proved to be the crucial score in what was a tough, physical, but overall disappointing game.

Aonghus Clarke turned in a fine first-half performance as Castletown went in leading 1-6 to 0-3. They increased their lead to eight points soon after the restart but by the 48th minute Plunkett’s had cut the deficit to four points. However, Castletown’s stern defence of Paul and David Fennell, Liam Varley and Emmett Dalton stood tall and denied Plunkett’s the goal they needed.

Scorers for Castletown-Geoghegan: A Clarke (1-2), N O’Brien (0-5, 0-4 frees), J Clarke, D Fennell, K Glennon, B Lehart, N Kirby (0-1 each).

Scorers for St Oliver Plunkett’s: G Geoghegan (0-6, 0-4 frees), G Gavin (0-2), N Gavin (free), D Gavin, D Kiernan (0-1 each).

CASTLETOWN-GEOGHEGAN: P Maloney; P Fennell, E Dalton, E Óg Clarke; L Varley, R Whelan, D McDermott; J Clarke, D Fennell; A Clarke, N O’Brien, D Lynch; B Lehart, A Mangan, K Glennon.

Subs: N Kirby for D Lynch (inj, 37), D Gallagher for K Glennon (46), P Clarke for A Mangan (51).

ST OLIVER PLUNKETT’S: P Collins; S Conway, A Craig, S McManus; P Layde, N Gavin, R Ryland; G Gavin, J Duggan; C Curley, D Gavin, O Clinton; C O’Leary, K Gavin, G Geoghegan.

Subs: C Flanagan for O Clinton (inj, 15), D Kiernan for J Duggan (ht), J Dooley for C O’Leary (42).

Referee: Feichin Brennan


When Make-A-Wish becomes a reality

Here’s what you need to know about ‘alcosynth’

Carol Morley marches to her own beat

Soya, oat or almond? 4 of the most popular milk alternatives explained

More From The Irish Examiner