Ciarán Carey joy at ‘Well earned victory

Patrickswell bring the only 100% record into the knockout stages of the Limerick senior hurling championship after a 1-18 to 0-19 win over Limerick and Munster club champions Kilmallock.

The merited win in Bruff yesterday puts Ciarán Carey’s side directly into the semi-final as group winners, with five wins from five.

A Kevin O’Brien goal helped Patrickswell to a 1-10 to 0-9 half-time lead with Cian Lynch on the mark with two points and Lar Considine hitting three points for the winners in that opening spell.

But back came Kilmallock in the second half, and the sides were level for the fifth time in the 52nd minute, with Jake and Graeme Mulcahy and Robbie Egan on the mark for the champions.

But Patrickswell won out winners with late points from Aaron Gillane, Mark Carmody and Timmy Sheehan.

While Patrickswell go into the semi-final, Kilmallock must now face the quarter final route.

Also into the semi-finals are Na Piarsaigh, after a 4-18 to 0-14 win over Croom. A David Breen goal had them 1-8 to 0-9 up at half-time. Two second- half goals from Kevin Downes pushed the 2013 champions clear in the end. The result means Croom are relegated.

Joining Kilmallock in the quarter-finals are Doon, Ahane and Adare.

Doon booked their spot with a comprehensive 1-22 to 2-9 victory over Ballybrown.

Despite conceding a goal to Ballybrown’s David Hall, Doon were 0-9 to 1-5 up at the interval.

Then a second half goal from Dean Coleman moved the winners 1-17 to 1-7 clear. Alan O’Connor scored a second Ballybrown goal from a free but Doon held on for the win to advance to the next stage.

Adare advanced with a 5-19 to 1-7 win over Bruff.

The winners were 2-15 to 1-3 clear at the break, with goals from Willie Griffin and John Fitzgibbon. Brian Finn had a Bruff goal in reply.

In the second half, Ger Hegarty’s Adare had further goals from Declan Hannon, Lucas O’Brien and Eoin Ryan.

The sixth side into the knockout stages are Ahane, who were 2-20 to 0-12 winners over South Liberties.

Ahane were 0-13 to 0-7 up at half-time with Niall Moran, Tom Morrissey, Paddy Morrissey and John Meskell to the fore.

A Niall Moran goal early in the second half set Ahane on the road to victory. Sub Stephen Power sealed the win with a second late goal.

The sixth fixture in the final round of group games saw Murroe-Boher and Effin finish level, at 1-18 each. The draw relegates Effin. The final score came deep into extra-time, when Seanie Tobin pointed a free for Murroe-Boher.

More on this topic

Ciarán Carey: There are no bank holidays for addictionsCiarán Carey: There are no bank holidays for addictions

GAA announce re-fixtures for Storm Dennis-affected league tiesGAA announce re-fixtures for Storm Dennis-affected league ties

John Kiely: Ending maor foirne role 'a daft notion'John Kiely: Ending maor foirne role 'a daft notion'

John Kiely confirms injury to keep Richie English out for seasonJohn Kiely confirms injury to keep Richie English out for season


Cross rope bridges strung across the Atlantic or visit reimagining of time gone by; whatever you fancy doing, you’ll find it in Ulster.Staycations 2020: Take your pick from these great things to do in Ulster

I can’t eat anything without chilli flakes stuffed into itShape I'm In: Novelis Emma Murray

Peter Dowdall has advice on caring for these perennial favouritesLook after your peonies and they'll brighten your garden

A routine smear test picked up Eileen Rushe's cancer when she was in her early 30s. It was a long road to recovery, says Arlene Harris.In check: Why every woman must get a cervical screening test

More From The Irish Examiner