Greenmount enjoy goal glut

A superb display of attacking from Scoil Mhuire na nGrás secured the H5 title at Páirc Uí Rinn yesterday.

Boasting eight different scorers, Greenmount took the game to their Churchfield opponents from the start, James Falvey settling them with an early goal while points from Luke Hannigan (two) and Patryk Topielec were augmented by an Adam Grainger goal for a 2-3 to 0-0 half-time lead.

Ryan Dorgan’s early second-half goal, from Hannigan’s lovely flick, extended the lead, though Churchfield began to come back into it through their best player Eoin Galvin. He would finish as their only scorer with 1-3, but Grainger netted again before sub Michael O’Donovan also got in on the act.

Scorers for Scoil Mhuire na nGrás, Greenmount: A Grainger 2-0, J Falvey 1-1, R Dorgan, M O’Donovan 1-0 each, L Hannigan 0-2, P Topielec, L Cooke, B Lynch, 0-1 each.

Scorers for Scoil Padre Pio, Churchfield: E Galvin 1-3 (0-2f).

SCOIL MHUIRE NA nGRÁS, GREENMOUNT: W Flood; A Barrett, J Ricken, S Walsh; P Topielec, J Leahy, J Hourihan; J Mintern, J Falvey; L Cooke, J Geasley, B Lynch; L Hannigan, R Dorgan, A Grainger. Subs used: D O’Mahoney, M O’Donovan.

SCOIL PADRE PIO, CHURCHFIELD: K Long; M Heaphy, C Duggan, R O’Leary; D O’Connell, A Long, C Downey; E Galvin, D Curtin; J Connors, K Kapcinski, J Russell; K Struthers, EJ Albino, C Murphy.

Referee: D O’Driscoll (Carraig na bhFear).

Coachford NS 4-5 Kilbrittain NS 1-2

Coachford NS led all the way through as they overcame the challenge of Kilbrittain NS in the DH2 decider.

Up 0-2 to 0-1 after a tight start, a fine individual goal from midfielder Billy Dennehy gave the mid-Cork school a cushion. While Kilbrittain’s Kynan O’Hara responded with a well-taken goal, a brace of green flags just before half-time from Jack Oldham ensured Coachford led 3-2 to 1-1 at the turnaround.

Shane Tarrant converted a free early in the second half but Kilbrittain came back strongly, although they could not breach the rearguard and points from Adam Murphy and Tarrant settled Coachford again.

Murphy removed any doubt about the outcome with his late goal which went in off the post.

Scorers for Coachford NS: J Oldham 2-0, S Tarrant 0-3 (2f), A Murphy 1-1, B Dennehy 1-0, D Thompson 0-1 (1f).

Scorers for Kilbrittain NS: K O’Hara 1-0, P Wall 0-2 (1f).

COACHFORD NS: L Casey; K Barry-Murphy, M Dineen; D O’Driscoll, D Thompson, P Dilworth; B Dennehy, S Tarrant; A O’Donovan, T O’Brien-Bradley, A Murphy; A Doherty, J Oldham. Sub used: J Martin.

KILBRITTAIN NS: M Hickey; S Sexton, A Holland; Jack O’Donovan, B Butler, D Considine; E Byrne, James O’Donovan; K Murphy, P Wall, C Walsh; J Harrington, K O’Hara. Subs used: E Galvin, M Savic.

Referee: D O’Driscoll (Carraig na bhFear).

Ballyheeda NS 1-2 Gaelscoil Uí Riada 0-1

The DC2 title went to Ballyheeda NS after they edged out Gaelscoil Uí Riada in what was a hard-fought match.

It took 18 minutes of the 20-minute first half for the first score to be registered as both defences were strong and goalkeepers Nadine O’Driscoll (Ballyheeda) and Niamh Tyers of Gaelscoil, made some good saves.

A fine goal from Laura McCarthy-Cronin, after good work by Aoife Casey, put the Ballinhassig school ahead, and while a good Amy Ní Shúilleabháin point cut the gap for the Gaelscoil early in the second half, that was as close as they would come.

Two fine frees from Ballyheeda captain Leah Cullinane bolstered kept the city school on the back foot.

Scorers for Ballyheeda NS: L McCarthy-Cronin 1-0, L Cullinane 0-2 (2f).

Scorer for Gaelscoil Uí Riada: A Ní Shúilleabháin 0-1.

BALLYHEEDA NS: N O’Driscoll; R Reardon, M Healy; M McCarthy, L Cullinane, G O’Leary; Á Crowley, N Sheehan; E Keating, J Bohane, A Casey; L McCarthy-Cronin, M Dempsey. Sub used: A Keating.

GAELSCOIL UÍ RIADA: N Tyers; M Nic Risteaird, L Ní Bhradaigh; M Ní Bhruadair, C Ní Riada, A Ní Mhathúna; Ó Ní Eidhin, G Ní Choileáin; F Nic Risteaird, M Ní Choileáin, A Ní Shúilleabháin; C Nic a’Bhaird, M Ní Chonchúir. Sub used: E Ní Shirideáin.

Referee: D O’Driscoll (Carraig na bhFear).

Scoil Ínse Ratha, Little Island 5-2 Leamlara NS 1-6

Scoil Ínse Ratha of Little Island showed great character as they produced a storming finish to deny Leamlara in the H10 final.

Leading 2-2 to 0-2 at one stage, Little Island saw their lead evaporate as Leamlara did well before and after half time, but three late goals ensured the win.

A tally of 1-2 from captain Kevin Cody and a goal from Robert O’Connor helped Little Island into the early lead, but Leamlara’s Liam O’Shea was in fine for and he sent over four points before goaling seven minutes into the second half to level.

Little Island’s response was powerful though, as Seán O’Connell, Aaron Ward and Ciarán Guest all found the net, with a late Jason Hegarty free Leamlara’s only response.

Scorers for Little Island: K Cody 1-2, R O’Connor, A Ward, S O’Connell, C Guest 1-0 each.

Scorers for Leamlara NS: L O’Shea 1-4 (0-1f), J O’Driscoll, J Hegarty (0-1f) 0-1.

SCOIL ÍNSE RATHA, LITTLE ISLAND: W Cogan; S Horgan, S O’Connell, L O’Mahony; R O’Connor, A Delea; K Cody, A Ward, N Galvin.

LEAMLARA NS: S Ziad; E Manning, J Hegarty, S Whelan; N Power, L O’Shea; T Howard, J O’Driscoll, J Collins. Sub used: R Kinane.

Referee: D O’Driscoll (Carraig na bhFear).


Some days you’ve got to make your own sunshine, writes Annmarie O'ConnorTrend of the Week: Escape from lockdown loungewear with these creative closet options

Children’s author Sarah Webb didn’t want sixth class pupils to miss out on their graduation, so to mark their end of year she organised a series of inspirational videos delivered by well-known Irish people, says Helen O’CallaghanIrish celebrities help students say goodbye to primary school

We are all slowing our pace and appreciating the wonders around us, says Peter DowdallMagical maple holds us spellbound

Sustainable gardening tips and a fascinating documentary are among the offerings on your TV todayThursday TV Highlights: A Prime Time look at how schools will cope in the Covid era features in today's TV picks

More From The Irish Examiner