St Mullins collect record 24th title

St Mullins 0-9 Naomh Eoin, Myshall 0-7

Carlow SHC final: St Mullins marked the club’s centenary year by claiming the Carlow hurling title for a record 24th time at Dr Cullen Park yesterday, coming from three points down at half time to put in a storming second half which brought them a deserved two point victory over Naomh Eoin in a low-scoring final.

There was a dramatic end to the game when Naomh Eoin were awarded a close-range free deep in injury-time. With a phalanx of St Mullins players defending their goal, John Michael Nolan, Myshall’s full-forward, saw his cracking drive blocked. The final whistle sounded immediately.

A torrential downpour during the pre-match parade made good hurling difficult and scores hard to come by. Naomh Eoin were the dominant side in the opening half and were not flattered to lead 0-6 to 0-3 at half-time. The best score of the half was a superb point from a line ball from midfielder James O’Hara, his side’s sixth white flag.

St Mullins came out for the second half really fired up and by the 42nd minute were level. After James Doyle for the Saints and Padraig Nolan had traded points – Nolan’s was Naomh Eoin’s only score of the half — points from Marty Kavanagh, John Murphy and a free from Kavanagh levelled matters at 0-7 each.

The following 23 minutes produced only two points as Naomh Eoin missed a number of clear-cut scoring chances. Seamus Murphy gave the Saints the lead, supplemented by a superb 58th minute effort from play by Marty Kavanagh.

Jack Kavanagh, the St Mullins No 13 but playing a roving role, was voted man of the match.

Scorers for St Mullins: M Kavanagh 0-4, 0-1 free, 0-1 65, S Murphy 0-2, J Murphy, J Kavanagh, J Doyle 0-1 each.

Scorers for Naomh Eoin: A Kenny 0-4, all frees, J M Nolan, J O’Hara (line ball), P Nolan 0-1 each.

ST MULLINS: K Kehoe; D Whelan, J Doran, P Doyle; P Kehoe, G Cody, P Kehoe; C Kavanagh, M Walsh; J Walsh, J Murphy, M Kavanagh; J Kavanagh, S Murphy, J Doyle.

Subs: P Fortune for Walsh (26); D Murphy for C Kavanagh (h/t).

NAOMH EOIN: B Tracey; R Nolan, S Kavanagh, S Cranny; E Nolan, D Kavanagh, M Doyle; J O’Hara, M Clowry; C Foley, A Kenny, R Smithers; P Nolan, J M Nolan, K Foley.

Subs: K Hogan for C Foley (inj, 43): C McCabe for Clowry (54).

Referee: D Hughes (Erin’s Own).


From sweet expectation to bitter defeat.The 7 emotional stages of beginner baking

Fleabag, Love/Hate and a poignant new documentary series are among the options available, writes Des O'Driscoll.What to stream on Netflix, the RTÉ Player and other services

A travel show in Turkey and a look a the science of Coronavirus are among today's top picks.Thursday's TV highlights: Travelling in Turkey and the science of Coronavirus among today's top picks

More From The Irish Examiner