Precious points power Rathvilly

CHAMPS: Rathvilly captain Brendan Murphy lifts the trophy after their win over Old Leighlin   in the Carlow SFC final at Dr Cullen Park. Picture: Pat Moore.

Rathvilly 2-9 Old Leighlin 1-10
Four unanswered points at the start of the second-half provided the springboard for Rathvilly’s eighth Carlow SFC title at Dr Cullen Part yesterday as the north county side spiked the ambitions of holders Old Leighlin.

An attendance of 3,500 saw the sides go in level at half-time – 2-3 to 1-6. But the challengers hit the ground running on the resumption with points from J J Smith, Diarmuid Cronin, Ed Finnegan and Gary Dempsey.

The final had exploded into action in a two minute period at the end of the opening quarter. Rathvilly’s JJ Smith saw his shot for goal brilliantly saved by Old Leighlin goalkeeper James Clarke, but the alert Diarmuid Cronin smashed the loose ball to the net.

Within a minute man of the match Alan Kelly saw his shot from a bad angle find the corner of Clarke’s net.

Stung by that double reversal, the champions responded with a well-worked goal from midfielder Hughie Gahan.

Rathvilly’s greater teamwork and desire was what separated the teams, however. They were strong in defence, with a good supply of ball going into dangerous forwards JJ Smith, Ed Finnegan, Alan Kelly and Diarmuid Cronin.

Scorers for Rathvilly: D Cronin 1-1, A Kelly 1-0, E Finnegan, G Dempsey (0-1 free), J J Smith (0-1 free), Brian Murphy (0-1 free), 0-2 each.

Scorers for Old Leighlin: C Coughlan (0-1 free), S Kinsella (0-3 frees), 0-4 each H Gahan 1-1, W Minchin 0-1.

RATHVILLY: R Molloy; B J Molloy, A Sibbald, K Byrne; J Leonard, Brendan Murphy, J O’Donoghue; K Doyle, Brian Murphy; A Kelly, E Finnegan, W O’Donoghue; D Cronin, G Dempsey, J J Smith.

Subs: C Byrne for Brendan Murphy (injured) (38); E Molloy for Doyle (44); P Byrne for W O’Donoghue (47); D Molloy for Cronin (53).

OLD LEIGHLIN: J Clarke; G Hickey, M Meaney (Blackbush), R Burke; D Dowling, J Hayden, D Kelly; D Bambrick, H Gahan; M Brennan, P Hickey, M Meaney (Monemore); C Coughlan, W Minchin, S Kinsella.

Subs: E Fitzgerald for Burke (34); S Bambrick for Hickey (38); S Kennedy for M Meaney (Monemore) (44).

Referee: J Hickey (Fenagh).


Skinny jeans: The trend that refuses to die

Reaching out: How volunteering can boost your health and happiness

Making babies: What men can do to boost their fertility

VIDEO: Here’s how to do ‘doga’ – aka dog yoga

More From The Irish Examiner