Pobalscoil Corca Dhuibhne in cruise control against Tralee CBS

Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne 2-10 Tralee CBS 1-3
Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne continued their march towards a fourth successive Corn Uí Mhuirí title with this emphatic quarter-final victory over a largely disjointed Tralee CBS outfit.

The reigning champions rarely moved out of second gear in putting Tralee CBS to the sword, a string of five unanswered points directly upon the change of ends all but ending this fixture as a contest.

Led by centre-back Aodhán Ó Conchúir and midfielder Séan Ó Gairbhia — the pair contributing half of Corca Dhuibhne’s points tally — the winners rendered Tralee scoreless between the 21st and 48th minute, conceding just three scores from play over the hour.

Far more ominous for semi-final opponents Clonakilty Community School is Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne achieved the 10-point victory without the services of four of last year’s Hogan Cup winning side — Tom Ó Súilleabháin, Marc Ó Conchúir, Sean Ó Bambaire and Conchúir Ó Géibheannaigh.

Manager Ciarán Ó Móráin had expected a tougher examination.

“It was much easier than we thought it would be,” admitted Ó Móráin. “We were down a number of fellas today, four big names and a few more along with them. That is why you have a big panel and the lads who featured today were very clued in. A lot of fellas put down a marker and have given us plenty to think about going into the semi-final.

“It was imperative we started well to put the pressure on. We didn’t want to be putting pressure on ourselves. Our intensity was there from the off and football brought us home in the end. Our handling of a wet ball on the third week of January was excellent.”

In a lacklustre opening quarter that produced only two scores, Séan Ó Gairbhia had PCD off the mark from the placed ball. Cathal Ó Bambaire blasted aneffort wide of the target in the subsequent action, but it wasn’t long before the lively corner-forward had the umpire reaching for the green flag.

Pádraig Mac an tSíthigh’s delivery was excellently taken down by Liam Ó Brosnacháin but the full-forward hauled to the ground by Tralee’s Cian Sheridan. Referee Eddie Walsh was in doubt in awarding the penalty, which Ó Bambaire slotted beyond keeper Eoghan O’Brien. Jack O’Shea and Ivan Parker (free) rallied for Tralee, but Corca Dhuibhne refused to allow their opponents gain a foothold in proceedings.

Ó Gairbhia and Ó Conchúir split the posts approaching the interval to move PCD 1-3 to 0-2 clear and the gap was further stretched early in the second half with Ó Bambaire, Barra Seán Mac an Bhradáin, Ryan Ó Mainnín, Ó Gairbhia and Ó Conchúir finding the target.

Calvin Foley ended Tralee’s scoring drought with a well-worked goal on 48 minutes. A comeback , however, was never really on the cards.

Barra Seán Mac an Bhradáin pointed in the ensuing passage of play and Ó Bambaire, set-up by substitute Séamus Ó Muircheartaigh, kicked his second goal to ensure a few early exits from the Dr Crokes GAA grounds.

“We kicked a point straightaway after their goal and that was crucial,” said Ó Móráin. We didn’t want to be inviting them back on us. We didn’t take their goal lying down which is encouraging.”

Scorers for Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne: C Ó Bambaire (2-2, 1-0 pen, 0-1 free); S Ó Gairbhia (0-3, 0-2 frees); BS Mac an Bhradáin, A Ó Conchúir (0-2 each); R Ó Mainnín (0-1).

Scorers for Tralee CBS: C Foley (1-0); I Parker (0-2, 0-1 free); J O’Shea (0-1).

POBALSCOIL CHORCA DHUIBHNE: L de Bhailís (Daingean Uí Chúis); C Ó Súilleabháin (Daingean Uí Chúis), B Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghaeltacht), Tomás Ó Súilleabháin (Daingean Uí Chúis); C Ó Murchú (An Ghaeltacht), A Ó Conchúir (Daingean Uí Chúis), P Pól Sauerland (An Ghaeltacht); P Mac an tSíthigh (Daingean Uí Chúis), S Ó Gairbhia (An Ghaeltacht); M Ó Gormáin (An Ghaeltacht), BS Mac an Bhradáin (Rinn Mhaoile), G Ó Brosnacháin (Daingean Uí Chúis); R Ó Mainnín (Lios Póil), L Ó Brosnacháin (Daingean Uí Chúis), C Ó Bambaire (Daingean Uí Chúis).

Subs: S Ó Muircheartaigh (An Ghaeltacht) for Ó Mainnín (44 mins), L Mac Giolla Earnáin (Daingean Uí Chúis) for Síthigh (48), S Ó Lúing (An Ghaeltacht) for de Bhailís (49, inj), PJ Mac Láimh (An Ghaeltacht) for Bhradáin (52), R MacCárthaigh (Daingean Uí Chúis) for L Ó Brosnacháin (57).

TRALEE CBS: E O’Brien (Churchill); T Lynch (St Pat’s Blennerville), C Sheridan (John Mitchels), D Ryan (Kerins O’Rahillys); M Reidy (Ballymac), J Morgan (Austin Stacks), J O’Shea (Austin Stacks); T Hoare (Kerins O’Rahillys), C Foley (Austin Stacks); B Kennedy (Annascaul), W Hurley (St Pat’s Blennerville), C Griffin (Austin Stacks); C Leen (Ballymac), S Okunbar (Na Gaeil), I Parker (Churchill).

Subs: S Mortimer (Churchill) for Sheridan (40 mins), D Ronan (Kerins O’Rahillys) for Ryan (45), S Fitzmaurice (Austin Stacks) for Kennedy (45), B O’Neill (Kerins O’Rahilly) for Hoare (48), T O’Conner (Ballymac) for Griffin (50).

Referee: E Walsh (Kerry).


Yvonne Young, group assistant director of nursing, University of Limerick Hospitals Group and National Sepsis TeamWorking Life: Yvonne Young, group assistant director of nursing

More From The Irish Examiner