Fitzgerald to give championship debuts to four players

Clare senior hurling manager Davy Fitzgerald will give championship debuts to four players in Sunday’s Munster SHC quarter-final against Waterford in Thurles (throw-in 4pm).

Full-back David McInerney, midfield pairing Colm Galvin and Conor Ryan and full-forward Shane O’Donnell have all been rewarded for good league form. With O’Donnell alongside Podge Collins and Conor McGrath, Darach Honan must be contented with a place on the subs’ bench.

Westmeath have named an unchanged side for Saturday’s Leinster SFC quarter-final clash with Dublin in Croke Park (7pm).

Having beaten Carlow by 3-15 to 1-10 in their opening-round clash two weeks ago, Lake County manager Pat Flanagan has opted to keep faith with the same starting side. Midfielder John Heslin and returning attacker Dessie Dolan both scored five points in that win while Kieran Martin got two goals. In addition, captain and full-back Kieran Gavin made his first appearance for the county since suffering burns in a work-related accident, and he continues.

Goalkeeper Paul Connaughton, Dolan and full-forward Denis Glennon were all part of the Páidí Ó Sé-managed side which beat Dublin in 2004 en route to a first-ever Leinster senior title.

For his first Munster SFC match in charge of Waterford, against Kerry in Fitzgerald Stadium (7pm), Niall Carew has named an experienced side, with all of the players having previous championship experience.

Having used the league campaign to rotate the panel, Carew has selected eight of the team which started in the All-Ireland qualifier defeat to Wicklow last summer. Former captain Tony Grey, who has spent much of his Déise career playing at wing-back, is picked at number 10 in an all-Stradbally half-forward line alongside Shane Aherne and Andy Doyle.

For their Leinster SHC quarter-final against Carlow in O’Moore Park in Portlaoise on Sunday (3pm), Laois have named the same team which overcame Antrim in their last match.

CLARE (SH v Waterford): P Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona); D O’Donovan (Clonlara), D McInerney (Tulla), S Morey (Sixmilebridge); B Bugler (Whitegate), P Donnellan (O’Callaghan’s Mills), P O’Connor (Tubber); C Galvin (Clonlara), Conor Ryan (Cratloe); J Conlon (Clonlara), T Kelly (Ballyea), Colin Ryan (Newmarket-on-Fergus); P Collins (Cratloe), S O’Donnell (Éire Óg), C McGrath (Cratloe). Subs: D Tuohy (Crusheen), C Cooney (O’Callaghan’s Mills), C Dillon (Crusheen), E Barrett (Newmarket-on-Fergus), N O’Connell (Clonlara), L Markham (Cratloe), F Lynch (Clooney-Quin), P Duggan (Clooney-Quin), D Honan (Clonlara), D McInerney (Cratloe), J Clancy (Clarecastle).

LAOIS (SH v Carlow): E Reilly (St Lazarian’s, Abbeyleix); B Stapleton (Borris-in-Ossory Kilcotton), B Campion (Rathdowney-Errill), JA Delaney (Clough-Ballacolla); C Healy (Portlaoise), M Whelan (Borris-in-Ossory Kilcotton), G Burke (Camross); J Fitzpatrick (Rathdowney-Errill), J Walsh (Ballinakill); S Maher (Clough-Ballacolla), Z Keenan (Camross), W Hyland (Clough-Ballacolla); J Brophy (The Harps), T Fitzgerald (Portlaoise), B Dunne (The Harps).

WATERFORD (SF v Kerry): S Enright (Ballinacourty); T Ó hUallacháin (An Rinn), N Walsh (Kilrossanty), T O’Gorman (Nire); C Phelan (Brickey Rangers), S Briggs (Ballincourty), J Hurney (Ballinacourty); M O’Gorman (Nire), T Prendergast (Kilrossanty); T Grey (Stradbally), S Aherne (Stradbally), A Doyle (Stradbally); P Whyte (Kilrossanty), G Hurney (Ballinacourty), R Aherne (Stradbally).

WATERFORD (JF v Tipperary): T Wall (Nire); C Bourke (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg), M Prendergast (Kilrossanty), S Lannon (Stradbally); C Buckley (Bonmahon), P Crowley (St Saviour’s), J O’Mahony (Ballinacourty); S Prendergast (Kilrossanty), C Guiry (Nire); D Grey (Stradbally), B McGarr (Kilrossanty), B Phelan (Ballinameela); J Wall (Colligan), B Wall (Nire), D Power (Kilrossanty).

WESTMEATH (SF v Dublin): G Connaughton (Tubberclair); M McCallon (Garrycastle), K Gavin (Mullingar Shamrocks), K Maguire (Caulry); D Harte (Garrycastle), P Sharry (St Loman’s), J Gaffey (Garrycastle); D Duffy (Shandonagh), J Heslin (St Loman’s); K Martin (Maryland), C McCormack (Maryland), J Dolan (Garrycastle); G Egan (Tyrrellspass), D Glennon (Tyrrellspass), D Dolan (Garrycastle).


Mulranny, in the shadow of the Nephin Beg Mountains on the north shore of Clew Bay, is a hill-walker’s paradise.Old Irish goats deserve to be nurtured

In awe of nature’s bounty on a glorious September dayIn awe of nature’s bounty on a glorious September day

Rotten by name but certainly not by nature.Islands of Ireland: Rotten to the core

There’s a revealing story well told by the writer Alice Taylor about the day a neighbour gave a present of a poached salmon to her family.Alice’s salmon of knowledge

More From The Irish Examiner