Eamonn Fitzmaurice rings changes for Kerry in Killarney return against Cork

Eamonn Fitzmaurice has displayed his bold streak once again by altering more than a quarter of his Kerry team for Saturday’s Munster football final replay with Cork.

Eamonn Fitzmaurice rings changes for Kerry in Killarney return against Cork

The All-Ireland winning Kingdom boss has made four personnel changes for the return to Killarney, in line with a similar overhaul that he effected ahead of the drawn game.

There’s still no starting place for the gifted Colm Cooper but fellow veteran Aidan O’Mahony, Paul Murphy, Anthony Maher and Paul Geaney all come into the team.

Fionn Fitzgerald, whose last-gasp score captured a draw for Kerry last Sunday week, makes way along with Peter Crowley, Stephen O’Brien and Barry John Keane.

There’s also a notable return to bench duty for Paul Galvin. Maher’s return restores Kerry’s Sam Maguire winning midfield partnership and means centre-forward Bryan Sheehan can potentially lend support to a midfield dominated by Cork’s Alan O’Connor in the drawn game.

All-Ireland final goalscorer Geaney sniped a point as a sub for Keane in the 2-15 to 3-12 stalemate and retains his jersey. Similarly, speedy wing-back Murphy came on for Crowley in that encounter and the change has been made permanent.

Opponents Cork have named an unaltered line-up meaning no start for Paddy Kelly, who performed well as an early sub for the black carded Paul Kerrigan last time out.

Kerrigan has been named in attack again though may reprise the sweeper role he performed before his dismissal. Mark Collins could be detailed in defence either but is named to start at full-forward.

Cork manager Brian Cuthbert’s lack of overhaul shouldn’t be surprising considering that all of his tactical switches in the drawn game came in the closing 12 minutes, indicating a satisfaction with his line-up. Kerry, in contrast, made all but one of their substitutions before the final 10 minutes.

Elsewhere, All-Ireland title favourites Dublin won’t be able to call upon centre-back Ger Brennan for a second consecutive Championship campaign.

The St Vincent’s club man hasn’t featured for Dublin since the 2013 All-Ireland final win due to injury and has now withdrawn himself from the panel to concentrate on his recovery from an Achilles problem.

A Dublin GAA statement confirmed that “Ger Brennan has decided to take a break from football for this summer”.

Meanwhile, Mayo have recalled ultra experienced defenders Ger Cafferkey and Donal Vaughan for their Connacht final clash with Sligo on Sunday.

Vaughan replaces Kevin Keane who misses out through injury though Cafferkey is a direct replacement for Chris Barrett.

Sligo are unchanged from the side that upset Roscommon in the semi-final. Ulster finalists Monaghan were confirm their line-up this evening.

Kerry (SFC v Cork):

B Kealy; M O’Se, A O’Mahony, S Enright; J Lyne, K Young, P Murphy; D Moran, A Maher; J Buckley, B Sheehan, D Walsh; P Geaney, K Donaghy, J O’Donoghue.


B Kelly, C Cooper, BJ Keane, P Crowley, S O’Brien, F Fitzgerald, M Geaney, D O’Sullivan, T Walsh, J Sherwood, P Galvin.

Cork (SFC v Kerry):

K O’Halloran; M Shields, E Cadogan, J Loughrey; Barry O’Driscoll, Brian O’Driscoll, S Cronin; A O’Connor, F Goold; P Kerrigan, D O’Connor, K O’Driscoll; C O’Neill, M Collins, B Hurley.


P O’Shea, J O’Sullivan, N Galvin, C Dorman, T Clancy (Fermoy), R Deane, P Kelly, J Hayes, C O’Driscoll, D Goulding, D Og Hodnet.

Sligo (SFC v Mayo):

A Devaney; R Donovan, K McDonnell, D Maye; K Cawley, B Egan, E Flanagan; C Breheny, N Murphy; C Davey, M Breheny, N Ewing; D Kelly, P Hughes, A Marren.

Mayo (SFC v Sligo):

D Clarke; G Cafferkey, D Vaughan, K Higgins; L Keegan, T Cunniffe, C Boyle; S O’Shea, T Parsons; D O’Connor, A O’Shea, K McLoughlin; A Moran, C O’Connor, J Doherty.

Derry (SFC v Galway):

T Mallon; O Duffy, C McKaigue, D McBride; L McGoldrick, B Rogers, SL McGoldrick; N Holly, F Doherty; B Heron, M Lynch, E Lynn; D Heavron, E Bradley, C O’Boyle.

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballCorkKerryMunster SFCEamonn FitzmauricePlace: KillarneyPerson: Éamonn FitzmauricePerson: Colm CooperPerson: Aidan O’MahonyPerson: Paul MurphyPerson: Anthony MaherPerson: Paul GeaneyPerson: Fionn FitzgeraldPerson: Peter CrowleyPerson: Stephen O’BrienPerson: Barry John KeanePerson: Paul GalvinPerson: MaherPerson: Sam MaguirePerson: Bryan SheehanPerson: Alan O’ConnorPerson: GeaneyPerson: KeanePerson: MurphyPerson: CrowleyPerson: Paddy KellyPerson: Paul KerriganPerson: KerriganPerson: Mark CollinsPerson: Brian CuthbertPerson: KerryPerson: Ger BrennanPerson: Ger CafferkeyPerson: Donal VaughanPerson: VaughanPerson: Kevin KeanePerson: CafferkeyPerson: Chris BarrettPerson: M O’SePerson: A O’MahonyPerson: S EnrightPerson: J LynePerson: K YoungPerson: P MurphyPerson: D MoranPerson: A MaherPerson: J BuckleyPerson: B SheehanPerson: D WalshPerson: P GeaneyPerson: K DonaghyPerson: J O’DonoghuePerson: B KellyPerson: C CooperPerson: BJ KeanePerson: P CrowleyPerson: S O’BrienPerson: F FitzgeraldPerson: M GeaneyPerson: D O’SullivanPerson: T WalshPerson: J SherwoodPerson: P GalvinPerson: K O’HalloranPerson: M ShieldsPerson: E CadoganPerson: J LoughreyPerson: Barry O’DriscollPerson: Brian O’DriscollPerson: S CroninPerson: A O’ConnorPerson: F GooldPerson: P KerriganPerson: D O’ConnorPerson: K O’DriscollPerson: C O’NeillPerson: M CollinsPerson: B HurleyPerson: P O’SheaPerson: J O’SullivanPerson: N GalvinPerson: C DormanPerson: T ClancyPerson: FermoyPerson: R DeanePerson: P KellyPerson: J HayesPerson: C O’DriscollPerson: D GouldingPerson: D Og HodnetPerson: A DevaneyPerson: R DonovanPerson: K McDonnellPerson: D MayePerson: K CawleyPerson: B EganPerson: E FlanaganPerson: C BrehenyPerson: N MurphyPerson: C DaveyPerson: M BrehenyPerson: N EwingPerson: D KellyPerson: P HughesPerson: MarrenPerson: D ClarkePerson: G CafferkeyPerson: D VaughanPerson: K HigginsPerson: L KeeganPerson: T CunniffePerson: C BoylePerson: S O’SheaPerson: T ParsonsPerson: A O’SheaPerson: K McLoughlinPerson: A MoranPerson: C O’ConnorPerson: J DohertyPerson: T MallonPerson: O DuffyPerson: C McKaiguePerson: D McBridePerson: L McGoldrickPerson: B RogersPerson: SL McGoldrickPerson: N HollyPerson: F DohertyPerson: B HeronPerson: M LynchPerson: E LynnPerson: D HeavronPerson: E BradleyPerson: C O’BoyleEvent: MunsterEvent: All-IrelandEvent: 2013 All-Ireland finalEvent: Connacht finalOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: St VincentOrganisation: Dublin GAAOrganisation: SligoOrganisation: RoscommonOrganisation: SFCOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: Derry
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.