Champions Waterford won’t stand back from highly-rated Cork

WATERFORD will include five of the team which won last year’s Munster MHC for tonight’s semi-final against Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Luke Egan, Darragh Fives, Paudie Prendergast, Pádraig O’Mahony and Jake Dillon all figured on the team which defeated Tipperary.

Over the last ten years Cork and Waterford have met seven times with victory going to the Leesiders each time. You have to go back to 1950 to record Waterford’s last win over Cork at this level.

The closest Waterford came in the last decade was in 2002 when they drew with in Dungarvan before losing by a point in the replay at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

“Last year’s victory was well deserved,” said team coach Jimmy Meaney. “There is a lot of work going in the county at club and schools levels and we are beginning to reap the benefit.

“We have nothing to fear going up to Cork. I know we will have to play well to get the win but we are more than capable of that. We’ll have a right go and while we are up against what is regarded as a very good Cork team, we’ll be there or there about at the final whistle.”

Cork are highly regarded and their 2-31 to 4-22 victory over Tipperary in the first round would seem to confirm that theory.

The Leaving Cert. has been occupying most players’ minds over the last six weeks and the coaches have had to depend on training sessions.

Clearly the Cork selectors were not happy with the scores leaked against Tipperary and have made changes in defence.

Said coach John Considine: “We gave away scores very easily against Tipp and also conceded silly frees, and we can’t afford a repeat.”

Damien Cahalane, who missed the opening round because of injury, comes in at corner back while Kevin Hallissey gets his chance at wing forward.

Cork looked the part in defeating Tipperary and if Brian Hartnett can repeat his scoring exploits — he scored 1-14 in that game — the home side could be well on their way to another final.

CORK (MH v Waterford): W McCarthy (Carrigtwohill); D Cahalane (St Finbarrs), R Ryan (Bishopstown), C Spillane (Castlelyons); K Buckley (Na Piarsaigh), F O’Mahony (Midleton), C Joyce (Na Piarsaigh); D Sweetnam (Dohenys), N Kelly (Mayfield); S Moore (Midleton), D Lordan (Courcey Rovers), C Lehane (Midleton); K Hallissey (Éire Óg), J Coughlan (Newtownshandrum), B Hartnett (Russell Rovers). Subs: G Minihane (Courcey Rovers), D Lester (Bishopstown), D Stokes (Blackrock), K Burke (Midleton), D O’Carroll (Fermoy), R O’Shea (Carrigaline), S O’Keeffe (Blackrock), B Murray (Bishopstown), J Wall (Kilbrittain)

WATERFORD (MH v Cork): D Duggan (Dungarvan); J Barron (Fourmilewater), D O’Keeffe (Ballygunner), L Egan (Dungarvan); M O’Neill (Mount Sion), D Fives (Tourin), E Madigan (De La Salle); P Prendergast (Lismore), G O’Brien (Roanmore); P Mahony (Ballygunner), E Murphy (Dunhill), C Curran (Dungarvan); J Dillon (De La Salle), C Heffernan (Ferrybank), S Roche (Mount Sion).

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: TipperaryPlace: DungarvanPerson: Luke EganPerson: Darragh FivesPerson: Paudie PrendergastPerson: Pádraig O’MahonyPerson: Jake DillonPerson: Jimmy MeaneyPerson: John ConsidinePerson: Damien CahalanePerson: Kevin HallisseyPerson: Brian HartnettPerson: W McCarthyPerson: D CahalanePerson: R RyanPerson: C SpillanePerson: K BuckleyPerson: F O’MahonyPerson: C JoycePerson: Na PiarsaighPerson: D SweetnamPerson: N KellyPerson: S MoorePerson: D LordanPerson: C LehanePerson: K HallisseyPerson: ÓgPerson: J CoughlanPerson: B HartnettPerson: G MinihanePerson: D LesterPerson: D StokesPerson: K BurkePerson: D O’CarrollPerson: R O’SheaPerson: S O’KeeffePerson: B MurrayPerson: J WallPerson: D DugganPerson: J BarronPerson: D O’KeeffePerson: BallygunnerPerson: L EganPerson: M O’NeillPerson: D FivesPerson: E MadiganPerson: La SallePerson: P PrendergastPerson: G O’BrienPerson: P MahonyPerson: E MurphyPerson: C CurranPerson: J DillonPerson: C HeffernanPerson: S RocheEvent: Munster MHCOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: LeesidersOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: Leaving Cert.Organisation: TippOrganisation: MHOrganisation: CarrigtwohillOrganisation: St FinbarrsOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: CastlelyonsOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: MayfieldOrganisation: Courcey RoversOrganisation: ÉireOrganisation: NewtownshandrumOrganisation: Russell RoversOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: FermoyOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: DungarvanOrganisation: FourmilewaterOrganisation: Mount SionOrganisation: RoanmoreOrganisation: BallygunnerOrganisation: DunhillOrganisation: Ferrybank
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.