Boost for Cork as Ian Maguire returns from injury to face Limerick

Cork midfielder Ian Maguire has overcome a back injury and is selected for tomorrow’s Munster U21 football quarter-final against Limerick.

Maguire missed the majority of UCC’s Sigerson Cup campaign, including the finals weekend, with the complaint.

Manager Sean Hayes has named the St Finbarr’s footballer at midfield alongside Darragh Murphy of Valley Rovers. Maguire is one of six survivors from last year’s team - Michael Martin, Jamie Davis, Kevin White, Stephen Cronin and Kevin Crowley - selected to line out at the Gaelic Grounds (7.30pm). Brian O’Driscoll, also a member of 2014 side, is among the subs.

Forced to construct an entirely new forward unit, Cathal Vaughan has been positioned at left corner-forward, joined inside by Peter Kelleher and Sean O’Donoghue, both of whom lined out for the Cork hurlers during the Waterford Crystal Cup. Cork trounced Limerick 3-15 to 0-8 in the corresponding fixture 12-months ago.

Tom Devine, a member of UCC’s Fitzgibbon Cup team, anchors the Waterford defence from centre-back for their quarter-final against Clare at Miltown Malbay (7.30pm). The Nire’s Conor Gleeson, at corner-forward, is their danger-man.

CORK (Munster U21FC v Limerick):

M Martin (Nemo Ranger); D Quinn (St Finbarr’s), J Davis (Douglas), S Cronin (Nemo Rangers); T O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), S White (Clonakilty), K Crowley (Millstreet); D Murphy (Valley Rovers), I Maguire (St Finbarr’s); A O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers), C Horgan (Nemo Rangers), R Harkin (Mallow); C Vaughan (Ivyleary), P Kelleher (Kilmichael), S O’Donoghue (Inniscarra).


A Casey (Kiskeam), M McSweeney (Newcestown), K Cremin (Boherbue), C Kiely (Ballincollig), B O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh), A Murphy (St Michael’s), M Hurley (Castlehaven), K Davis (Skibbereen), C McIntyre (Carrigaline).

WATERFORD (Munster U21FC v Clare):

D Whitty (Gaultier); S Dalton (De La Salle); C Walsh (Rathgormack), J de Barún (An Rinn); J Mullaney (Stradbally) T Devine (Modeligo), J Fenton (Bunmahon); D Ryan (Nire), S Keating (Ardmore); M Curry (Rathgormack), F Ó Cuirrín (An Rinn), J Curry (Rathgormack); C Murray (Rathgormack), J Gleeson (Rathgormack), Conor Gleeson (Nire).

More in this Section

Late drama sees Mitchelstown CBS win Munster B title

The issues spicing hurling’s hors d’oeuvre

Changing times but legend Greene wants Déise to seize moment

Meyler wants ruthless edge for ‘massive’ Banner challenge

Breaking Stories

Toothless Celtic held by stubborn St Johnstone

Joost Luiten holds off Chris Wood to triumph in Oman

Federer eases past Dimitrov to 97th tour title

Monaghan pick up second consecutive win as they stave off Kerry comeback


The biggest cancer killer will take your breath away

Hopefully she had an idea...

Power of the press: Meryl Streep and Tom Hanks discuss 'The Post'

More From The Irish Examiner