Barron and Roche to join Munster Hall of Fame

CORK football hero Declan Barron and Tipperary hurling star Mick Roche are thelatest Munster legends set to be inducted into the provinces Hall of Fame at the upcoming Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards on November 27 in the Malton Hotel in Killarney.

Bantry Blues player Barron won five All-Ireland medals during his career, two at minor, two at U21 and one at senior in 1973, along with two All-Star awards.

Carrick Davins hurler Roche won three All-Ireland medals and four Munster medals with Tipperary.

Barron and Roche join fellow GAA greats like Seamus Durack, Eamon Cregan, Mick O’Connell and Billy Morgan in the Hall of Fame.

Other 2010 winners include Michael Dundon of the Tipperary Star who won the media award, Bart Moriarty from Kerry for services to refereeing, Tom Collum (Tipperary) took the education award for his work with schools GAA, Gerald McKenna (Kerry) won the Distinguished Service award, Eoin Conway (Cork) was the intermediate hurling winner and Michael O’Donoghue (Kerry) won the junior football award.

This Award scheme began in 1998 to acknowledge the achievements of players, referees, administrators and clubs as well as special merit awards while two former greats are inducted into the Munster Hall of Fame each year.


Seven beauty tricks to update your look for spring

Meet London Fashion Week’s 'pride and joy', Derry-born Jonathan Anderson

Local & fresh: The Currabinny Cooks offer up leek delights

Lindsay Woods: 'I was hinging my transition into functioning, upright, organised, and general pulled-togetherness on the purchase of a dodgy calendar from Tesco'

More From The Irish Examiner