Way is clear for junior and women’s deciders

Billy McAuliffe and Paul Buckley will contest a classic Munster Junior A final at Templemichael on Friday week, June 26.

An equally exciting Munster senior women’s final between East Cork rivals Carmel Ryan and Triona O’Farrell will be played at Lyre the following Sunday, June 28th.

Buckley beat Thomas Boyle by almost a bowl in his semi-final at Ballinagree. He got the better of the good opening shots to the shop by 30m. Boyle’s second was too tight on the left and went into a drain, while Buckley made sight. Boyle kept the lead under a bowl with a good third.

Buckley reached the pump with his third, but Boyle beat it well with a good fourth to Lehane’s lane. Boyle closed the gap to Cara’s and won his first lead with his next.

Buckley’s shot towards the bridge caught the left. Boyle beat it by 30m. He increased his lead to almost a bowl with his next shot to light.

Buckley won the following exchange to cut the odds to 20m. Boyle got the better of two good shots to the cottage. The outcome was virtually decided in the next two shot. Boyle unluckily hit a step on the straight which left him just 20m fore. Buckley’s bowl then made light after rubbing off paling. Boyle missed light with his reply and was now almost a bowl down.

Buckley clinched it with a good bowl to the last bend. Boyle saved the bowl of odds in the last shot.

Billy McAuliffe beat Chris O’Donovan by a bowl at Ballinacurra. He had 60m odds after four to Foley’s. He increased his lead to almost a bowl with a good shot towards Perrott’s. O’Donovan fought back with two big bowls past Perrott’s to bring the lead well under a bowl. McAuliffe played his next bowl to the left and his lead was back to 40m.

O’Donovan stayed in contention past Innishannon cross. McAuliffe kept the upper hand though in the shots to the straight where he was 50m fore. He then beat two big throws from O’Donovan up the straight and finished strongly to win by a bowl.

Carmel Ryan beat Louise Collins by two bowls in the Munster senior women’s semi-final at Ballinacurra. She led all the way and was almost a bowl in front at Brinny cross. She raised a bowl at Foley’s. She got a nice brush towards the gas line and increased her lead to the GAA. She was two clear at the bridge and held that to the line.

Nicholas Carey led all the way against PJ Cooney in their Munster intermediate quarter-final at Conna.

Cooney was unlucky to see his first bowl hop the kerb and go over a wall. By contrast Carey got three great openers to the start of the school straight to stretch almost a bowl clear. Cooney then got two poor shots in succession and Carey capitalised by opening the forge corner in five to raise a bowl.

He held that lead up the hill to Beecher’s.

Cooney then got a phenomenal bowl down from the top of Ballybride, which clipped the lead to 60m. That lead still separated them facing the line. Cooney closed with a great bowl past the line. Carey’s reply veered left but it got a brush and beat the tip.

That win puts Carey into the semi-final, but the quarter-final on his side has yet to be played. Andrew O’Leary awaits the winner of the three-way play-off between John Shorten, Pat Butler and Michael Bohane at Grange next Saturday.

In the meantime Raymond Ryan and Donal Riordan meet in the other semi-final at Caheragh on Saturday. Ryan beat Paddy O’Donoghue by a bowl in his quarter-final at Waterfall.

Donal Daly threw the Ulster intermediate wide open again when he beat Paul O’Reilly and Ruairí O’Reilly at Newtownhamilton.

In the race to three wins Paul O’Reilly still leads with two, but has lost the last two ties. Both his opponents now have a win each.

Three key ties in the Munster senior championship will be held next weekend. On Sunday James O’Donovan and Aidan Murphy meet in Templemartin and Gary Daly and Séamus Sexton at Carrigaline in two quarter-finals.

On Friday Éamon Bowen, James Buckley and Brian Wilmot play at Macroom, the first two will draw either Martin Coppinger or David Murphy in their quarter-finals.

Pat Callanan beat Seamus O’Sullivan in the South West Junior B at Kildee. Callanan led by a bowl after five. O’Sullivan took the lead on the last straight and led to the last shot.

Callanan closed with a big one to take it. Shane O’Neill and Darren Donnelly meet in the Ulster Junior B final. O’Neill beat Johnny Kelly in the last shot at Port Mór-Blackwatertown.

Denis Wilmot beat John Cahalane by almost two bowls in the Seán Leahy Cup final at the Pike. They were level at White’s cross. Wilmot’s first lead came at Dreaper’s. He raised a bowl at the novice line and finished with four great shots.

Denis Murphy bowled brilliantly at Donoughmore where he beat David Hubbard by almost two bowls.

Gary Daly beat Aidan Murphy by almost a bowl at Whitechurch. The scheduled Denis McGarry Cup final had to be postponed when finalist David Murphy got injured in practice.

More in this section

CourtsSports ColumnistsBilly McAuliffePaul BuckleyMunster Junior A finalRoad BowlingPlace: TemplemichaelPlace: LyrePlace: BallinagreePlace: BallinacurraPlace: Brinny crossPlace: ConnaPlace: BallybridePlace: GrangePlace: CaheraghPlace: WaterfallPlace: NewtownhamiltonPlace: TemplemartinPlace: CarrigalinePlace: MacroomPlace: KildeePlace: Port Mór-BlackwatertownPerson: Billy McAuliffePerson: Paul BuckleyPerson: Carmel RyanPerson: Triona O’FarrellPerson: BuckleyPerson: Thomas BoylePerson: BoylePerson: LehanePerson: CaraPerson: Chris O’DonovanPerson: FoleyPerson: PerrottPerson: O’DonovanPerson: McAuliffePerson: Louise CollinsPerson: Nicholas CareyPerson: PJ CooneyPerson: CooneyPerson: CareyPerson: Andrew O’LearyPerson: John ShortenPerson: Pat ButlerPerson: Michael BohanePerson: Raymond RyanPerson: Donal RiordanPerson: RyanPerson: Paddy O’DonoghuePerson: Donal DalyPerson: Paul O’ReillyPerson: Ruairí O’ReillyPerson: James O’DonovanPerson: Aidan MurphyPerson: Gary DalyPerson: Séamus SextonPerson: Eamon BowenPerson: James BuckleyPerson: Brian WilmotPerson: Martin CoppingerPerson: David MurphyPerson: Pat CallananPerson: Seamus O’SullivanPerson: CallananPerson: O’SullivanPerson: Shane O’NeillPerson: Darren DonnellyPerson: O’NeillPerson: Johnny KellyPerson: Denis WilmotPerson: John CahalaneEvent: Munster Junior AEvent: Munster senior women’s semiEvent: MunsterEvent: Munster Senior championshipEvent: Ulster Junior B finalEvent: Sean Leahy CupOrganisation: East CorkOrganisation: GAA

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox


Saturday, July 2, 2022

  • 1
  • 15
  • 17
  • 21
  • 34
  • 42
  • 47

Full Lotto draw results »