Murphy maintains impressive Munster form

David Murphy continued his march to the Munster senior championship quarter-final with a bowl-of-odds win over Nicholas Carey at Templemichael on Sunday.

He won the opening tip by 50m, but Carey held the lead there in the next four to light. They made Sarsfield’s Court cross in three more where Murphy’s lead was just 20m. Murphy played three brilliant bowls to the next bend to raise a bowl of odds. He kept up the momentum with three more good bowls to the finish.

John Creedon reached the pub cross in 17 shots at Templemartin where he to beat James Buckley by almost two bowls. He get rubs with his first two to the creamery cross and raised a bowl with his third to the church cross. It was just under a bowl after six and seven to Slyne’s corner. Creedon made the schoolhouse cross in another six to push his lead well over a bowl. He continued to set the pace from there.

Trevor O’Meara kept his championship hopes alive with a last shot win over Edmund Sexton at Clondrohid. He was a bowl in front after six shots, which he held to the Bell Inn. Sexton closed the gap to 40m on the straight. He continued to press and took his first lead at the end of the straight, when O’Meara’s bowl got a bad hop. O’Meara regained the lead in the shots to the second-last bend.

Sexton then took what looked a decisive lead with a great bowl to light at the last bend. O’Meara was too ambitious with his replay and it caught the verge short of light. He compensated with a beautifully lofted last bowl that beat the line by 50m. It still looked within Sexton’s grasp, but he misplayed his reply and was short of the tip.

All-Ireland champion Catriona O’Farrell-Kidney was on fire against Carmel Ryan at Cobh in the senior women’s Munster championship. She now advances to the quarter-final together with Emma Fitzpatrick and Juliet Murphy, with the fourth spot lying between Louise Collins and Denise Murphy. The eight next-placed players go into a knockout round to decide who joins them.

The Munster Junior A championship will occupy a lot of attention in the coming weeks.

The Carbery final is on Friday at the Marsh Road between Declan O’Donovan and Tony O’Sullivan. In the West Cork final, Denis O’Driscoll plays Humphrey O’Leary at Durrus. O’Leary caused an upset beating Tim Young in the semi-final. The Mid-Cork final is between Jerry Murphy and Brendan O’Neill at Newcestown.

Peter Nagle beat Brian Daly by close to two bowls to secure a meeting with Richard Murphy in the Cork City final at Templemichael. He raised a bowl with a good opening shot and held that past Sarsfield’s court cross, raising a second bowl at the corner before the novice line. He lost momentum on the straight, but rallied again to win by almost two bowls.

Billy McAuliffe had a clear win over Maurice Connolly at Killavullen to reach the North East final against Michael Murphy at the same venue. In East Cork, James Cooney will play Patrick Butler at Ballincurrig on Sunday.

John O’Rourke beat Mark Sheahan by a bowl in the North Cork series to reach the final against Vincent Kiely at Sally’s Cross.

Darren Oliver’s win over Jerry O’Riordan at Clondrohid creates a three-way Gaeltacht final for Macroom. Had O’Riordan won he would have been champion. That looked likely when he led by almost a bowl at the Bell Inn, but he was unlucky with his shots to the black house. Oliver seized the opening and finished with two great bowls for a convincing win.

Ian Callanan guaranteed a place in the South West final with a win over Kieran O’Driscoll at Timoleague. He raised a bowl after six to Bateman’s. O’Driscoll missed a chance to level at O’Leary’s and Callanan’s closed with three great shots to win by a bowl.

David Hubbard and Arthur McDonagh had good wins in the Flor Crowley Cup. Hubbard had a great start against William O’Driscoll at Newcestown and held off a rally by O’Driscoll to win by a bowl. McDonagh beat Gavin Twohig in the last shot of a great contest at Templemartin.

More in this section

CourtsSports ColumnistsPlace: TemplemichaelPlace: TemplemartinPlace: CobhPlace: Marsh RoadPlace: DurrusPlace: NewcestownPlace: KillavullenPlace: east CorkPlace: BallincurrigPlace: north CorkPlace: Sally’s CrossPlace: ClondrohidPlace: Bell InnPlace: TimoleaguePerson: MurphyPerson: David MurphyPerson: Nicholas CareyPerson: CareyPerson: John CreedonPerson: James BuckleyPerson: SlynePerson: CreedonPerson: Trevor O’MearaPerson: Edmund SextonPerson: SextonPerson: O’MearaPerson: Catriona O’Farrell-KidneyPerson: Carmel RyanPerson: Emma FitzpatrickPerson: Juliet MurphyPerson: Louise CollinsPerson: Denise MurphyPerson: Declan O’DonovanPerson: Tony O’SullivanPerson: Denis O’DriscollPerson: Humphrey O’LearyPerson: O’LearyPerson: Tim YoungPerson: Jerry MurphyPerson: Brendan O’NeillPerson: Peter NaglePerson: Brian DalyPerson: Richard MurphyPerson: Billy McAuliffePerson: Maurice ConnollyPerson: Michael MurphyPerson: James CooneyPerson: Patrick ButlerPerson: John O’RourkePerson: Mark SheahanPerson: Vincent KielyPerson: Darren OliverPerson: Jerry O’RiordanPerson: O’RiordanPerson: OliverPerson: Ian CallananPerson: Kieran O’DriscollPerson: O’DriscollPerson: David HubbardPerson: Arthur McDonaghPerson: HubbardPerson: William O’DriscollPerson: McDonaghPerson: Gavin TwohigEvent: Munster Senior championshipEvent: All-IrelandEvent: MunsterEvent: Munster Junior A championshipEvent: Mid-CorkEvent: GaeltachtEvent: Flor Crowley CupOrganisation: SarsfieldOrganisation: BatemanOrganisation: O’LearyOrganisation: Callanan

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox


Saturday, June 25, 2022

  • 2
  • 6
  • 27
  • 28
  • 41
  • 45
  • 39

Full Lotto draw results »