Trend of the week: Ruffles

Frill seeker: Ruffle up that wardrobe. It's frill season, says Annemarie O'Connor.

STYLE HACKS

OFF-DUTY

Incorporate off-duty pieces like denim, t-shirts or trainers for laissez-faire appeal.

BODY CON

Use frills to accentuate certain body parts or play down proportions with bishop sleeves and fluted hem skirts.

EDGY

Pair rococo ruffles with edgier separates like biker jackets or Chelsea boots.

ACCENTS

Trend shy? Opt for decorative accents like ruffle-trimmed pockets, shoes or bags.

THE EDIT

Fancy some exterior decorating?

1 MSGM pink neoprene dress with frill, Samui, €325

2 Chiffon frill maxi dress, Needle & Thread, €315

3 Victorian ruffle dress, Karen Millen, €225

4 Mohair ruffle sweater, Zara, €59.95

5 Givenchy flower print ruffled hem skirt, Brown Thomas, €2,590

6 Lost Ink pocket ruffle midi, Littlewoods Ireland, was €45, now €29.50

7 Frilled leather mules, & Other Stories, €85

STOCKISTS

& Other Stories – www.stories.com

Acne Studios – www.acnestudios.com

Brown Thomas – Patrick Street 021-4805555, www.brownthomas.com, and other branches

BT2 – Dundrum SC 01-2968400, www.bt2.ie

Karen Millen – Dundrum Town Centre & Brown Thomas, Cork 021-4805555, www.karenmillen.com

Littlewoods Ireland – www.littlewoodsireland.ie

Loulerie – Chatham Street 01-6724024, www.loulerie.com

Samui – Drawbridge St, Cork 021-4278080, www.samuifashions.com

The Outnet – www.theoutnet.com

Topshop – Opera Lane 021-4278268, www.topshop.com, and branches

Uterqüe – www.uterque.com

Victoria Victoria Beckham – www.victoriabeckham.com

Zara – Mahon Point SC 021-4972320, www.zara.com, and other branches


Lifestyle

Dr Martin Coyne, a GP based in Donegal, takes Catherine Shanahan through one of his work daysWorking Life: Dr Martin Coyne, GP, Co Donegal

A Spielberg classic, a host of Premier League ties and Romesh Ranganathan in the Sahara are among this weekend's top picksWeekend TV Highlights: Premier League action, The Voice Kids, and Romesh Ranganathan

Contents from two Cork houses at Woodward's auction, says Des O'SullivanOnline sale with socially distant viewing at Woodward's

Des O'Sullivan previews Fonsie Mealy's timed online collector's saleCork silhouettes, a massacre and a landmark of Irish printing

More From The Irish Examiner