New executive takes helm for two years

Kieran O’Dowd, Sligo, has been re-elected national chairman of Macra, with Michelle O’Callaghan from Cork and Sean Finan from Roscommon taking up the roles of national secretary and national treasurer.

Selected at the national AGM last Saturday in the Radisson Blu, Sligo, in partnership with Connacht Gold, they are joined by 12 new national council representatives and 19 existing reps.

The new NCRs are from Cavan, Seandun, Donegal, Dublin, Kerry, Meath, Monaghan, South Tipperary, Wexford and Wicklow as well as associate rep and members rep.

A new national council is elected every second year at the AGM while a new national executive is elected every year. A new national executive was established for the year with six new members from Seandun, Sligo, North Tipperary, Carbery and Imokilly.

Chairpersons of Macra’s three sub-committees, agricultural affairs; rural affairs and competitions were elected as: Ag Affairs, John Joyce; North Tipperary Rural Affairs, Ger Griffin, Avondhu (re-elected); Competitions, Flor O’Gorman, Imokilly.

Macra president Alan Jagoe welcomed all the new NCRs. He thanked Connacht Gold for being event partners and thanked the Sligo Macra organising committee for coordinating proceedings.


The model mum took a coronavirus test in preparation for the procedure.Everything to know about breast implant removal, as Chrissy Teigen says she’s undergoing surgery

Cathal Coughlan is known for his part in Microdisney, but for many people his best output came with the harder-edged band he formed afterwards, writes Ed PowerB-Side the Leeside: The Fatima Mansions and the story of 'Viva Dead Ponies'

Limerick singer-songwriter Emma Langford recently released a new single ‘Mariana’ available to buy on Bandcamp, with all proceeds going to Safe Ireland.Question of Taste: Singer-songwriter Emma Langford

These jammy thumbprint cookies are dangerously moreish.Jammy thumbprint cookies recipe

More From The Irish Examiner