Previous world champions Eamonn Tracey and John Whelan will represent Ireland again in 2017, at the World Championships in Kenya, having won their test matches at Tullamore last week.

Many of last week’s record attendance of 283,000, including President Michael D Higgins, watched the 366 competitors perform to a high standard of workmanship.

Ploughing results


1, Laura Grant (Offally). 2, Rose Nyhan (Cork West). 3, Joanne Deery (Monaghan.

Under 28 Senior:

1, Kieran Coakley (Cork West). 2, Sean Tracey (Carlow). 3, Brendan Greene (Laois) and Frank Cullen (Wexford) (tie).

Under 28 Junior:

1, Aidan Higgins (Galway). 2, Mikey O’Halloran (Kerry). 3, Seamus McConnon ( Monaghan).

Vintage Trailer:

1, Tommy Cullen (Wexford). 2, Bobby Owen (Kildare). 3, John Wolfe (Cork West).

Vintage Single-Furrow:

1, Gordon Jennings (Cork West). 2, Trevor Fleming, Cork East. 3, Eoin Buttle, Dublin.

Under 28 Reversible:

1, Dermot Ryan (Offaly). 2, Stephen Whelan (Wexford). 3, Eric Wickham (Wexford).

Under 21 Senior:

1, Lorcan Bergin (Tipperary South). 2, Lee Simms (Donegal). 3, Jamie Hayes (Cork East).

Under 21 junior:

1, Aidan O’Donovan (Cork West). 2, Michael Burke (Galway). 3, Padraig Deery (Monaghan).

Three-Furrow Reversible:

1, Frank Gowing (Offaly). 2, Dan Hurley (Cork West). 3, Patrick Power (Waterford).

Senior Horse:

1, Gerry Reilly (Galway). 2, Gerry King (Louth). 3, Joe Fahy (Galway) and J J Delaney (Cork East) (tie).

Special Horse:

1, Gerard King (Louth). 2, J J Delaney (Cork East). 3, James Kilgarriff (Galway).

Under-40 Horse:

1, Jeremiah Delaney, Cork East. 2, Gearoid McCarthy, Cork West, 3, Eamon McDonagh, Mayo.


1, John Murphy (Cork West). 2, Dave Mulcahy (Cork East) 3, Alan Davis (Laois).


1, James Prendergast (Waterford). 2, Pat Furlong (Wexford). 3, Pat Buchanan (Donegal).

Novice Two-Furrow senior:

1, James O’Sullivan (Cork West). 2, Mark Smyth (Wexford). 3, Niall Ring (Cork East).

3 Furrow-Standard:

1, Matt Coakley (Cork West). 2, Ned Conway (Kilkenny). 3, James Murphy (Tipperary South).

Intermediate Reversible:

1, Ger Coakley (Cork West). 2, Michael Wycherley (Cork West). 3, Joe Slattery, North Tipperary.

Kverneland reversible test match:

1, John Whelan (Wexford), 2, Ger Coakley (Cork West). 3, Dan Donnelly (Wexford).

Senior conventional test match:

1, Eamonn Tracey (Carlow). 2, Martin Kehoe (Wexford). 3, Sean Keating (Wexford).

Vintage 2-furrow mounted:

1, Paddy Doyle, Wicklow. 2, Alan Simms, Donegal. 3, Nick Cullen, Wexford.

Junior conventional:

1, Liam Hamilton, Wicklow. 2, John Deery, Monaghan. 3, John Healy, Kerry.

Novice 2-furrow junior:

1, Conor Mulligan, Longford. 2, Maria Dunne, Kildare. 3, Joey Taylor, Meath.

More on this topic

WATCH: The O'Donovan brothers proved a hit at the PloughingWATCH: The O'Donovan brothers proved a hit at the Ploughing

This nine-year-old's Tipp hurling rap at the Ploughing is goldThis nine-year-old's Tipp hurling rap at the Ploughing is gold

Farmers 'arming themselves' to defend property against burglarsFarmers 'arming themselves' to defend property against burglars

TWEETS: 8 reasons culchies love the ploughin' championshipsTWEETS: 8 reasons culchies love the ploughin' championships


To instantly power up your look, veer towards the hard shoulder.Bold shoulder: How to instantly power up your look

Plums are a wonderful autumn fruit, useful for all sorts of recipes both sweet and savoury. In Ireland we are blessed with wonderfully sweet plums.Currabinny Cooks: Juicy plums work for both sweet and savoury dishes

The rise of home skincare devices doesn't mean that salons and clinics no longer serve a purpose.The Skin Nerd: Don’t try this at home — new treatments in the salon

Millions of gamers watched Fortnite reach breaking point on Sunday night, with ten seasons of mysterious storyline culminating in meteors hitting the island and everything disappearing.GameTech: End of beginning for Fortnite as Chapter 2 finally goes live

More From The Irish Examiner